We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A broken promise” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Fish Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A broken promise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2003

We recently reserved a room at the Thorp House Inn for two evenings-the only two we could get away from Chicago. We were surprised to receive a call one night asking us to switch rooms; the innkeepers wanted to accommodate other guests who planned on staying four nights and requested the room we had already reserved. After promising to look one last time at the website, I called the next day to say that we were sorry but we wanted the room we had already reserved. Mr. Falck-Petersen said that he would honor our request. We received a subsequent confirmation in the mail noting that we were in the room we had asked for. Upon arrival and with no advance notice whatsoever, we were told by their assistant that we had been "upgraded" to a more expensive room. The room was lovely but the "upgrade" ignored the fact that we had asked for--and been promised in writing--another room. We didn't want this room. We were bumped anyway. When we asked whether the innkeepers would be around the next day to discuss the issue, we were assured they would. They never showed up at the B&B during our two days. When we returned to Chicago, we wrote a lengthy e-mail expressing our disappointment and annoyance. We never received the courtesy of a reply.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    38
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
194
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
4.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
5.7 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorp House Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorp House Inn and Cottages

Property: Thorp House Inn and Cottages
Address: 4135 Bluff Ln, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorp House Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 100 years, Thorp House Inn & Cottages has welcomed visitors to the charming village of Fish Creek. The five unique guest rooms in the Inn offer the authentic ambiance of a bygone era amidst the spectacular natural beauty of the Door County peninsula. Whirlpools and fireplaces are available. The Cottages at Thorp House Inn have a charm and following all of their own. They are just what you had in mind... cozy and private... nestled in the pines... close to the beach... in the heart of the village. Walk to shops, restaurants, Peninsula State Park and much more. Each cottage is decorated in country antiques and has its own unique character. Most have fireplaces and some have whirlpools. Both the Inn and Cottages are open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Thorp House Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Hotel Fish Creek
Thorp House Inn And Cottages Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing