We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
Nearby Hotels
Homestead Suites(Fish Creek)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Julie's Park Cafe & Motel(Fish Creek)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites(Fish Creek)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkwood Lodge(Fish Creek)(Great Value!)
$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Breeze Resort(Ephraim)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Motel(Fish Creek)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hilltop Inn(Fish Creek)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
By The Bay Motel(Fish Creek)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
84
42
18
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
42
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastgas fireplacehiking trailsmy husband and idoor countycourtyard roomspotty wifidowntown fish creeklarge fridgepiesolder coupleoutdoor poolyogurtfront desk persontable chairsquick drivepleasantly surprised when
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 152 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our first trip to Door County, and we had no idea where to stay or even what town the action was in. Thanks to a friend's advice, we chose Fish Creek and couldn't have been happier with our decision. Most of the Inns downtown seem very old and small. Although Settlement Courtyard isn't downtown, it's only a mile from all the shops and restaurants. Our Massages were wonderful, our room was spacious and clean, and the hotel was quiet for the most part. Although the pool and grounds are nothing glamourous, we enjoyed our stay through and through. Not sure if we'll be back, next time we'd like to be on the water.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Whirlpool suite.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Settlement Courtyard is one of the best places I've stayed. It is homey, quiet and comfortable. The rooms are great! I love the fireplace, the kitchenette and the incredibly comfortable beds. It is also in a great location with plenty of things to enjoy in Door county close by. We definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLStraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were a little apprehensive when walking into the hotel to check in. The outside of the building had a look about it that said "old", and we had been burned previously on a hotel with nice pictures online only to discover not-so-nice accommodations.

We checked in and walked to our room (I liked that it was a real key and not a key card that we used, haven't seen that in years) and were pleasantly surprised when we walked in the room. It was nicely appointed with a king bed and a little kitchenette. The kitchenette had a real fridge as opposed to a dorm-sized appliance, microwave, toaster, sink, and dishes (including corkscrew - nice for all the wineries around there). Also had a nice wood table with seating for 4.

There was a smallish TV that did not have a large number of channels, but we weren't there to watch TV so not a problem. They advertise a free continental plus breakfast. Here is what we found: several types of cereal - oatmeal packets, Cheerios, Raisin Bran, and a few Kashi selections; fresh fruit - apples, oranges, and plums; baked goods - English muffins, bagels, bread, coffee cake, mini muffins, mini cinnamon rolls, doughnut holes, and danish; yogurt cups; juice - apple and orange; milk; and organic coffee. Quite enough to make a good breakfast. They have a seating area right there, or you can use a tray to take it back to your room.

The ice machine is not one of those annoying ones where you push a button and wait while the ice slowly trickles out. You open a lid and use a nice big scoop to get the ice, in and out in seconds.

The website boasts of extensive walking trails that connect to the state park. We went for a very nice hike on those trails, but could not find where they were supposed to connect to the park. The map they provided showed it connecting, but the trail ended in a neighborhood of condos. When I asked at the front desk, the gentleman there didn't know much of anything about the trails.

All in all, it was a very pleasant place to stay. Not sure if we will be back, only because we may want something on the water next time. I definitely recommend this, especially if you want something nice yet budget-friendly.

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooks the courtyard with pool and games, yet has flowers and bushes outside the window for a nice view out whilst laying in bed.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FireballFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

overall this is a very quaint place to stay. It is conveniently located one mile or so from Fish Creek which is a fantasic little town to visit in Door County. it is also very near peninsula state park which is great for all kind of activities.

The hotel boasts being greener than some of the other area hotels and I was pleasantly surprised to find recycling containers in each room and other green amenities. the only thing they were missing would be additional recycling containers near the entrance and exits.

the evening staff upon our arrival was a little off putting but the rest of the crew have been very accommodating and pleasant.

venue is a little pricey given it is not water front. But the pool is clean and the grounds are well kept.

we may choose not to stay here again but it was not because of anything specifically wrong with the location. We would likely choose something waterside next time.

my wife disagreed with some of the decor but overall it was very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dino201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was SO disappointed with The Settlement Courtyard Inn. The towels were so old they should have been replaced years ago. The wash towels were stained and dirty. The blanket in the closet that is used for the sleeper sofa had so many holes in it you would have thought that 100 moths had a feast on it. It was also soiled. The chairs by the pool were worn out with large holes in the threading. They should have been replaced years ago along with the towels. The air conditioner ran all day long but at 10PM shut off and didn't go on again until 8:30AM. We were told that it was on auto cycle. It was over 100 degrees outside (truly the hottest day since the 1970's). We had a 2 bedroom suite and the only air conditioner was in the main living area. Needless to say it was very hot and uncomfortable in the 2 bedrooms to sleep. Although the staff was friendly and apologetic, I would NEVER stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peterson14325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

We always ask our guests to let us know if things are not right with the room and we are so grateful this guest did so. Unfortunately some things got missed in the room and because of her letting us know we were able to change out all of the old towels and blanket and able to readjust the air conditioner to run continuously. That room was just refurbished but the remodel did not include air in each room but fans are provided in the bedrooms. And YES! the new pool furniture is on order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews