We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luncheon stop”
Review of The English Inn

The English Inn
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Get your knight on at The English Inn! Dine inside in one of our elegant, but intimate rooms, or under the stars on our new patio. With a menu of over 60 dishes, an extensive wine list of more than 120 different wines plus full bar, there is something to please every palate. Come see us soon!
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great luncheon stop”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was one of our stops during our Spring Blossom Door County Trolley Tour. Salad dish and a Chicken sandwich, very very tastey. Great atmosphere too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    97
    48
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellison Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mother Day Meal”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My family so enjoyed the food on a very busy Mothers Day at The English Inn. Everything was beautifully presented for brunch with a wide variety of dishes. The baked French toast was fabulous and my husband loved the eggs Benedict. Beautiful fresh fruit as well as dessert's. and to top it off, a real treat was the chocolate fountain with fresh strawberries, Cherries, pineapple and more. Our server was very sweet and even though she was busy, she kept our table of 10 very happy. This was a memorable meal and we will be back very soon to enjoy another fantastic meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCmomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and so tasty!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Service is great, as is the food! I highly recommend the original goat cheese salad. The whitefish augratin was spectacular, too. I ordered a specialty martini, something with Door County cherries, and it was delicious, as well. We had a table right next to the window and the view was beautiful and romantic. They even have a nice outdoor seating area with patio heaters to keep you comfortable on a cool spring night. Definitely check this place out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had just left another restaurant due to poor service (not even getting spoken too).
Went here as a second choice and wished it had been our first. Our waitress was the best we have even had in any restaurant we have ever eaten in. The spinach salad with their homemade hot bacon dressing incredible. Beef Wellington and Prime Rib outstanding. Yes it is a little pricy but no different from any other fine dining establishment in Door County! Can not stress enough how impeccable the service was on a busy night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most romantic place ever”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our favorite spot in Wisconsin. Period. Deliscious. Romantic. Bar is fantastic. Service and food are great. Never know who you might meet there. High percentage of Illinois residents visit here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Inn also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to The English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing