We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Parkwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkwood Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We enjoyed having a kitchenette, a wood-burning stove, a warm pool with a hot tub. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Complimentary coffee was also available with a variety of flavors to choose from. Tennis courts were available. There also was playground equipment for the kids. Nice setting including flowers in a woodsy area. Convenient for visiting Peninsula State Park and Fish Creek.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uhlroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    38
    12
    9
See reviews for
67
54
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aledo, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

So glad I didn't take other reviews too seriously. This was perfect for us. We spent our days hiking and biking and came back to the lodge for a cool down swim before dinner. Very quiet and I had no fear of doors that open to the great outdoors. Bed was comfortable. Wish I'd have brought my own pillow as that is what I'm used to. Kitchenette was dated but everything worked just fine, so that did not matter. We fixed our own breakfast in our suite before heading out and packed a picnic lunch in a cooler and picnic basket. The fridge was handy to keep our food and beverages cold being larger than the mini dorm fridge size. My only recommendation would be to remove some of the shrubs along the tennis courts for a better view in case a deer came out of the woods, and to add a row of big hanging pegs along the bedroom wall for gear. If others want a snobby upscale resort, there are other places to stay for $249/ night and up. I'd stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Vickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foremostmgt, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to hear that you had a great trip and enjoyed our hotel. Loved your suggestion for some pegs in the bedroom for hanging belongings. We haven't seen too many deer behind those shrubs but in the fall and winter turkeys like to wander around! Hope to see you back at Parkwood Lodge again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport MS
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Advertised as the best suite at the hotel. This should have been great, but no. Indoor/outdoor carpeting throughout belongs in a trailer. The sink is in the hallway right in front of the entrance door. The bedroom does have a king size bed but no night stands. The fire place never worked. Oh, by the way to get to the pool you can walk - outside- across the grass 50 feet which is always nice in October -not- and - and you get to walk even further to another building if you want ice. So, this place simply has no luxury rooms and please, clean those filthy lounge chairs by the pool. It is conveniently located near the very nice English Inn and Algonquin restaurants, walking distance close.

Room Tip: No rooms are available next to the pool which is located behind the check in building. This would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayneeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foremostmgt, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Every year we try to make improvements based on guest comments. In fact, in spring of this year we replaced all of the pool furniture. We also replaced the exterior furniture at each door of the units in the birch building and will continue to add more in front of each building. We have found brown and green colored chairs of more durable construction to help with the appearances. I am sorry you were not able to work the fireplace, they are wood burning units and typically require little maintenance. All of our units at any price point require a walk to the indoor pool, you are right it is a bit cool in October but remember we do provide changing rooms and showers in the attached game room. Glad you were happy with the location we love being able to walk to the English Inn and Alexander's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The room was very nice with all the required amenities and the surroundings were very calm, serene and beautiful. The lodge staff was very well mannered and friendly and the room service was simply perfect. With the exception of breakfast facility not being available, this would be a near perfect hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Om81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm glad I took the other reviews with a grain of salt and made a reservation. We had a one bedroom suite with wood burning stove and kitchenette. We don't spend much time in the room when we travel and want a clean room, comfortable bed, adequate and convenient storage and a place to cook and eat a quick meal, maybe have a swim, sit by a campfire and wash/dry our swimwear. This place had it all. We even used the barbecue grill for a fantastic steak dinner outside. There were a few families with small children and other couples - we were never disturbed. We brought our bikes - this is directly across from Peninsula State Park, a very short drive to downtown Fish Creek and walking distance from the English Inn (great outdoor bar - don't have to drink and drive!!!) The kitchenette is from the 50's - but it adds to the charm. The grounds and buildings were groomed and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonibmeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

For the price of the room $120+ per night I expected more. The rooms only open to outside (scary), pretty much everything in our room including carpet had to be from 70's or earlier. There was built up dirt and grime in the corners. The location is really good close to Fish Creek so if that is what you need most this may work for you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROIofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was surprised for the price that this hotel would not be cleaner and more up to date. The carpet and tub were dirty, the blanket on the bed was worn and ripped and the hotel was very out of date. I would gladly pay an extra $30 or $40 a night for a more comfortable stay. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crybka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foremostmgt, Owner at Parkwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Parkwood Lodge. We know that some of our rooms are outdated and we are working to make improvements but that said we try to keep a very clean hotel. Our rooms are some of the most affordable in the county, we provide affordable family friendly rooms in a great location. But there are a lot of great hotels in the area - I hope you come back to Door County and find one that suits you better. Again, our apologies that it was not us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
0.8 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
234 reviews
5.5 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#3 of 17 in Sister Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
5.7 mi away
Sister Bay Inn
Sister Bay Inn
#7 of 17 in Sister Bay
70 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
Baileys Harbor Ridges Resort
#6 of 7 in Baileys Harbor
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Lodge

Property: Parkwood Lodge
Address: 3775 State Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9630 (Formerly Beowulf Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Lodge - Door County has all of the amenities and comforts that you expect at a price you will appreciate. Parkwood Lodge is conveniently located on the north end of Fish Creek, Wisconsin across from the popular Peninsula State Park property. Parkwood Lodge is situated on 10 acres and offers a variety of room types for travelers to Door County. Featuring affordable rooms, kitchenettes and suites with wood burning fireplaces. Resort has indoor pool, whirlpool, game room, tennis court, playground, grills, picnic tables and a bonfire pit. Free Wi-Fi. Located near Peninsula State Park on the north end of popular Fish Creek. We have 59 rooms and welcome tours, groups and reunions. Parkwood Lodge is open early May thru late October. NO PETS ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Parkwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Fish Creek
Parkwood Lodge Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing