We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast in Door County”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Gull Inn

White Gull Inn
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award-winning restaurant open to the public. Winner of Good Morning America's Best Breakfast Award. Sumptuous lunches, candlelight dinners and famous for traditional Door County whitefish boils. Open all year.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Door County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The food is always excellent, with unique local offerings including Door County cherries. The service is very good and very consistent, and the setting is lovely in a beautiful historic property

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jslp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    194
    69
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went for breakfast only had to wait around 30 min. It was well worth the wait I had their cherry french toast it was really good my wife had a omlete which she enjoyed. The place is well worth going to great service also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved their famous Cherry Stuffed French Toast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had heard their GMA claim to fame, so had to check out the Cherry Stuffed French Toast. The wait was long for a Mon morning. We arrived at 10 and had a 1.5 hour wait. We expected a wait, just not that much. But it wasn't bad. One of us waited on the lovely porch with coffee while the other took a quick shopping tour. One of us had the Cherry Stuffed French Toast & it didn't fail. Loved it and thought it was one of the more reasonable priced items on the menu. The other one had a delicious Eggs Benedict. The cherry tea was a perfect beverage, sweet enough without being overly sweet. Our waitress was very nice, very prompt on refills, & served the food rather quickly. Enjoyed it, but probably won't return (unless craved the French toast) as it's not somewhere we'd usually stop. Plus there are so many other places to check out. But we did really enjoy the food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnLakeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Closed Doorwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We wanted to try the fish-boil, but lunch was all that fit into our schedule. No matter, the lunch was delicious. I had the "Closed Doorwich" which was sliced turkey with cheese and apple slices and an apple mayo...it was awesome. We kind of randomly picked the White Gull, and I'm glad we did, would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had breakfast here! Amazing cherry stuffed French toast. Wonderful coffee.
Great friendly service. Fair prices. Large servings.
Small gift shop in the entrance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi123Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Gull Inn also viewed

 
Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to White Gull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing