We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. Helsinki Restaurant & Wine Bar

Mr. Helsinki Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

From the varied reviews and the fact it is over a grocery store on the main street of a tourist town, I didn't know what to expect from Mr. Helsinki. You walk up a glass enclosed stairway to a haven of calm above the crowds. There are only a few tables, so get there early. I had to try the Bang Bang Chicken and it was like nothing I have had, kind of Thai, kind of Chinese, kind of something else, but really wonderful. Salads were excellent. Great wine selection.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bgrif1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    60
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“OMG Bananas Foster Crepes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Mr. Helsinki was our first night out during a week's stay in Door County. We both enjoyed a beer (though we wished they offered more local/Wisconsin beers). I really enjoyed the crawfish crepes for supper, and my husband enjoyed his local grass-fed burger, but it was a little dry. We ended the meal with the much-touted bananas foster crepes, and they were fantastic. It's worth a visit for the crepes alone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amdanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must Try Fish Creek Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I just had an unbelievable dinner at Mr. Helsinki in Fish Creek, Wisconsin. From the moment we walked in, the restaurant ambiance was wonderful. The walls are painted red, with small lights lining each window. Very cozy and inviting. We were immediately warmly greeted and seated at a high top table and the table itself was gorgeous. Hand made by the owner and absolutely beautiful. The bar itself was also hand made. The quality of the wood work was incredible. He could make a living making furniture! The restaurant was busy for a Sunday night, but had a few tables still available. The noise level was fine and we never had to talk loud to be heard. We were quickly greeted by our very friendly server, Joanna. She explained the specials for that evening and they all sounded amazing! We chose the smoked halibut dip for an appetizer and it came with a French baguette. Yummy! As Joanna saw that we were running low on the bread, she offered to bring us more. Now for our entrees. What a difficult decision. My husband chose the salmon and asparagus crepe and I decided on the "special" salad of the night which had Door County apples, walnuts and feta cheese on greens. We were both pleased with our choices. Delicious! My husband commented many times how very, very good his dish was. After our entrees, we were both pretty full, but wanted to try their specialty dessert, the Bananas Foster crepe. Again, fantastic! Decor, service and food were delicious. Highly recommend and we will be back the next time we visit Door County

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McGraths502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We did not eat here but had a nice time for a few drinks. Great atmosphere but the ventilation system must have been on the outs. Really thick n smoky and we could smell food on us when we left. As we had not eaten there that was really odd. Still we would go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will return for sure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I went here on our 15th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed in the least... Where to start? The décor is warm and inviting and intimate. The hostess and our waitress were super attentive and very helpful with suggestions. And then the food... We started with the special appetizer - a caprese salad made with heirloom tomatoes from the owner's garden, fresh mozzarella and pesto - so good... Then Crepes! We split a salmon/asparagus crepe and a creole crawfish crepe. We couldn't decide which was better. We ended the meal with the banana fosters crepe and fought over whose fork could get the most bites. Everything was awesome and we will absolutely go back. Highly recommend this restaurant!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ADearlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Helsinki Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Mr. Helsinki Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing