We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Cookery is a family run restaurant and wine bar in Fish Creek since 1977. Serving "fresh food, expertly prepared" (Midwest Living, Best of the Midwest). Our menu features American fare with a creative twist, all menu items are made from start to finish in our kitchen. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served daily. Also offering a nice selection of vegetarian entrees and gluten free items.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently had breakfast there. The service was great as well as the food. They serve coffee that actually tastes like coffee. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoHelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    262
    68
    22
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good place”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ate at the Cookery during a trip to Door County. We were seated very promptly and the atmosphere was quite pleasant. The food was very good, especially the perch and dill potato salad. My wife had the stuffed pork chops, which she said were good, but she wished she had ordered something else. The server was almost too attentive, and kept coming to our table to explain why she couldn't come to our table! Overall, however, we were pleased with our experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The cherrywood bacon is outstanding! We also enjoyed eggs, pancakes, hash browns. While the restaurant was busy, the wait staff kept up well. The two of us were seated in a row of two-some tables--one person on a chair and the other on the long booth-like seat. We like to be seated at a standalone table, but we didn't request it. Next time we will. Great food. Good service. There's outdoor seating, too, but it was too cool to be out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank summersailor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Cookery is a well established eatery.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Since the fire of the entire structure a few years ago, it is still a place to eat each time we visit Door County. Their home cooking is always very good and the chunky apple sauce is always the best around. There are lots of tasty treats you can buy to take home besides the apple sauce: pastries, jams, soups, etc. Check it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billp422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My family ate here as it seemed such a lovely place from the outside, and we were staying right down the street. The server seemed eager to flip our table. No cordial chit-chat. My "stuffed pork chop" was two pieces of breakfast ham with a dollop of cheese in the middle. We are only in Door County for one more night and I feel like this evenings meal was such a waste.

Helpful?
Thank swcullinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caskare00, Owner at The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at our restaurant. We spend a lot of time trying to make both our food and service excellent and we clearly missed the mark with your visit. We source the pork chop from Nueske's, a nationally recognized smokehouse in Wittenberg, Wisconsin that specializes in Applewood smoked meats. The pork chop is cured and then smoked which imparts a sweeter, ham like flavor.

We have many other menu items that may be more to your liking, we hope you will consider trying our restaurant again on a future visit to Fish Creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing