We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent quality and service”

The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Cookery is a family run restaurant and wine bar in Fish Creek since 1977. Serving "fresh food, expertly prepared" (Midwest Living, Best of the Midwest). Our menu features American fare with a creative twist, all menu items are made from start to finish in our kitchen. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served daily. Also offering a nice selection of vegetarian entrees and gluten free items.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Consistent quality and service”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not only are they known for the best whitefish chowder in Door County, all of their food is prepared of the freshest high quality ingredients. They have their own bakery for the breads, rolls and deserts. They have a nice friendly atmosphere. No weakness in any area. We've been going to this restaurant for over 25 years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    253
    67
    22
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Home
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Food was very good. For women on a girls time away. Would definitely recommend. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Consistently Great”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the cookery many times and they have never let us down. Whether it is breakfast, lunch, or dinner, the meals are always great. We will be back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LivinLifeFully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, great service! Beautiful setting.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have been to Door County so many times over the years. I always intended to stop at the Cookery for meal. Well, my last visit, I did just that. It was amazing! It was a Saturday evening, there was live music playing, the food was fresh, there were vegetarian and gluten free options. I chose the salmon and it was heavenly! We had an outstanding waiter. What a treat this meal was. You will not be disappointed! Prices are perfect!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robynberling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've been to the Cookery a few times in the last couple years. I grew up in the area, and it is fantastic to have a restaurant to go to that has high quality, just good food. They offer dishes that are flavorful without being super fatty (as many WI meals tend to be!) and have vegetarian options; probably one of the only places in NE WI you can find quinoa. :) They have properly made fried cheese curds and potato salad. Dessert was good, but not as great as the meals. Sit on the patio if you can for a great view of the bay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to The Cookery Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing