We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
31
18
9
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
18
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distancefamily owned and operatedsmall public beachlocation is greatplace to staylocated rightdoor countyrestaurants and shopscomfortable roomsecond floorshort drivepeninsula state parkmaryrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 64 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Premises were very clean and neat, rooms smelled fresh and were decorated very nicely. We really enjoyed our stay at By the Bay, found it by wandering on one of our trips to the area. PERFECT location, right across from the beach, had a great view too! The owners John and Mary were very helpful as to the area. VERY affordable and worth the stay! We will be staying there again!

Room Tip: MANY with beach view, no noise
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mstef99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Not the most spectaular motel, but the location definitely makes up for it. Within walking distance to everything. Large rooms. Large balcony. Owners are very friendly. Furnishings are outdated and there is no coffee pot in the room, but I can live with that.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OtisTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

When we couldn't get a last minute reservation at the Main Street Motel, our favorite Fish Creek motel, we booked at By The Bay as it looked similar and had similar rates. We agree that Mary was very helpful and friendly, and the location is ideal. Also appreciated the refrigerator in the room.

But something in the room set off our allergies so that we finally resorted to running the air conditioner on high all night, despite the cool Fall weather but that, combined with a matress that could use replacing, caused us to lose a fair amount of sleep across 3 nights.

And we missed the ceiling fan, free wi-fi and coffee maker in the room that we were used to at the Main Street for the same price as the By the Bay.

Mary does a very nice job with her motel, but it's a little worn and a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hoosier46NwIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed at this motel for a week end in Fish Creek. It has a great location, near Peninsula Park, shopping, and a small public beach. You can park at the motel and walk almost anywhere. We stayed in a first floor room and there is a small area with tables and chairs where you can sit outside and enjoy the weather. Met some really nice people just sitting around the common area. They had free coffee every morning in the office. One complaint, unit 10 had a very musty smell. Unit 11 was fine, the only difference was that unit 11 had a dehumidifier and unit 10 did not. You may want to ask about this when you book your room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fondyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

By the Bay Motel is a nice, clean place to stay when in Fish Creek. The rooms were perfectly acceptable - nothing special, but absolutely nothing amiss. The manager was friendly, and there was coffee in the office in the morning. The location is great - walking distance to anything you want to do in Fish Creek. It's also across the street from a nice little beach, which is nice since the motel does not have a pool.

There was a bike rack in the parking lot for our bikes. We also easily biked to Peninsula State Park, just a few minutes away.

We wouldn't race to stay at By the Bay again, but it was a good hotel for what we needed. I had no complaints about our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmonkulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews