We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful stay in Fish Creek”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beach House, 4117 Main Street, Fish Creek, WI
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The Beach House, 4117 Main Street, Fish Creek, WI
Master bedroom with attached bath.
Watch the world go by from your deck.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Living room with a water view.
A blustery day in April.
A family crosses the street on their way to the beach.
A zoom shot facing West while standing on the beach. h
View from the back parking area.
Master bedroom with attached bath.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fish Creek, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keith A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice condo......could use some additional perks”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Don't let the picture fool you. This is NOT beach front property. Although it is in a nice location, it is actually across the street from the water and a small beach. You can see the bay.......but sight is limited.
Condo itself was nice. My wife and I along with my brother and his wife stayed from June 21 thru June 28, 28, 2014. For an unknown reason, although I booked the condo for a week, we were charged an additional $200 for my brother/wife. Couldn't understand this as we had no maid service for the entire week. An extra couple would cause them no additional expense.
A few additional touches would be nice. There was no umbrella for the deck. There was one old plastic ice cube tray to use. Some additional kitchen condiments could be added at minimal cost.
The bedrooms were small. The "Master" had about one foot of space to walk around to get to the bathroom. The tub was so deep that with no handles to help you lift out of the shower you took your life in your hands to get in and out of the tub. GREAT if you were 25.........terrible if you are 65. The 2nd bedroom was very small. It contained 2 beds. Neither of the bedrooms had night lights............not good when you are in an unfamiliar place.
Kitchen was nice. We cooked several meals there with no problem. I enjoyed the deck more than any other part of the condo.
We paid $15 (plus tax) each day for a Westie we brought along. They had several restrictions for a 22 lb. dog that was used to living in a house...very house-broken.
Overall I thought the condo was over-priced. I have had condos rented in Maui for less with ocean frontage views.
This is a tourist area so the prices are inflated especially in the summer.
The front screen door would not open more than 3/4 full. Made it very difficult to get into the condo when you were carrying anything. Still have a wound on my arm from the door slamming on my wrist.
The owner never checked on us all week except to pick up their check. Would have been nice to see them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Deck/location of the property.
Liked least: Bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2014
"Don't let the picture fool you"?? This is a very harsh and unjustified review from someone who has not read the listing, looked at all the photos, or read the rates. Everything is spelled out and photographed. A major complaint was "this is NOT beachfront". Our description clearly states: "the beach is just across the street" (with photos as proof). Rates are published, were discussed and had been confirmed in writing - yet this guest feels the accommodations were "overpriced" and questions the charges for extra adults and a pet. They paid $227 per night for 4 adults - which included 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, complete kitchen, free laundry facility, living/dining room, cable TV & Wi-Fi, fireplace, jetted tub, deck, water view and convenient village location. This does not include tax or the $15/nt pet fee which is standard. A neighboring motel would have cost them $250 (2 rooms with a bed and bath). Another neighbor has a $20/nt pet charge.

It is simply not true that they "never saw us except when we picked up the balance". On one day, I (Chris) has a nice chat with them about their Westie. My husband passed their deck several times during the week and said "hello" - and I was working in the yard on several occasions. They had plenty of opportunities to discuss complaints or concerns. Besides, who knew they expected us to "check on them" throughout the week. This is a weekly rental with no office on the premises. Our guests are always given a number where we can be reached.

We are sorry about the wounded wrist, but the storm/screen door opens to the correct amount and will even stay propped open with a bar at both the top and bottom - if needed.

Bedroom size is subjective - and I will admit ours are not large (as shown in photos) but they are typical of this rental type. Motel bedrooms have a bit more space because that's all they provide - a bedroom. If a guest has special needs, it is up to the guest to research room size for the purpose of his or her own comfort.

As to the other complaints: "only one ice cube tray" has now been corrected and could have been easily corrected during their stay. "Condiments"...I must give this some thought. "Umbrella" for deck table would be too difficult to monitor when windy - and would only be needed for a short time each day. We had given this one some thought previously but found it to cumbersome for a rental.

A Special Note To Our Other Guests: If you have a complaint or concern, we plead that you discuss it with us personally, so that we can make your stay more comfortable. We try very hard to create comfortable, clean and fairly priced accommodations. A negative review is harmful to our rating and extremely stressful for us. Unfortunately, we have no recourse but to live with whatever people choose (for whatever reason) to say about us. Anything we say in our own defense only sounds like whining.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swcullina...
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in Fish Creek”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for the long weekend (Columbus Weekend) and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. The home was perfectly located--- view of the water from the living room and deck, directly adjacent to a fabulous little breakfast cafe, and just steps from the shops and restaurants of Fish Creek. The house was meticulously maintained. Though slightly dated, everything was extremely clean and in great working order. If I could find one fault, I would say that the mattresses could use replacement as they were far too soft. Other than that, I found everything absolutely perfect. It was difficult to find an available two bedroom apartment with a fireplace and a lakeview that allowed small dogs-- so I found this to be a real catch. We only met the owner very briefly and he was quite nice, offering us info on the local events occurring that weekend. We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View! Fireplace/ Deck/ Cleanliness
Liked least: Mattress
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! How good of you to say such nice things about our place. We especially loved the phrase "meticulously maintained". When our guests are happy, we're happy - which is why your comment about the beds concerns us. We are sorry that you found the mattresses to be too soft. All of the mattresses - including the extra-long twins were replaced last season. Since we are only open for 6 months of the year, they are relatively new. We did opt for a softer pillow top style this time around - but will remember your comment, and any others that we might receive, for next time. Thanks for choosing to stay with us - and for taking the time to write a review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placestog...
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Location Perfect Apartment”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Fish Creek is the best location as a home base for visiting beautiful Door County, and The Beach house is the perfect apartment. We stayed in the Grandview Suite and the view is very picturesque. It's even better in person than the pictures! You have everything you need for a comfortable stay and it's a great apartment to come "home" to at the end of the day of exploring Door County. Chris, one of the owners, was so nice to work with and addressed any questions promptly. If we head to Door County again, we know this is where we'll stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view
Liked least: leaving to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay B
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment in awesome location!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have been staying in the Beach House for the past few years. We love it because of the location, the quality of the facility, and the overall value. We often travel with our adult daughter so its important for us to have a place that is large enough for three adults. This apartment has two decent-sized bedrooms and two full baths. It also has a nice kitchen. dining area, and living room. We often eat breakfast and lunch in the apartment and then go out for dinner. There is also a wonderful little patio or balcony overlooking the Fish Creek Beach.

The apartment is right on the main street in downtown Fish Creek. It is right across the street from the public beach. It is an eay walk to great restaurants, shops, cafes, stores, ice cream, and the harbor. We love it. There is parking right in front of the place. It is right next door to a nice coffee shop and cafe.

The apartment is very clean and well maintained. It is beautifully decorated and has a nice widescreen TV with cable.

The owner is very nice and accomodating. She always stops in to see how we are doing and if we need anything. She is wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bedrooms could be bigger
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomO962
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect Location for Door County Summer Fun”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and 2 year old daughter had literally the perfect experience at this charming spot. Located right in the heart of Fish Creek- across from the beach, next to a cafe, and steps to dining and stores of all kinds- Chris and Sverre are terrific hosts in that they are around if you need them and invisible if you don't. The Grandview unit upstairs is just that, a great balcony with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths inside, and a more than adequate kitchen and living room. We wish we could have stayed longer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6tribes
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Fish Creek location”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Beach House
We could walk to everything in Fish Creek
It is well maintained and just lovely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary H
Saint Charles, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment in the Best location in Fish Creek!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second year we have rented the Grandview apartment at the Beach House. The apartment is immaculate and beautifully decorated with carefully chosen pieces, including an amazing carved antique wood fireplace and luxurious linens. Chris and Sverre are the perfect hosts, meeting you with the keys and insuring that you have everything you need upon arrival, but maintaining their distance so you have privacy unless you contact them. This apartment is directly across the street from Fish Creek Beach and within short walking distance of all of our favorite restaurants. Each day we ride our bikes in nearby Peninsula State Park (the entrance is less than 1/2 mile from The Beach House) and then return to our lovely, cozy sanctuary. These owners really care about providing their guests with a special experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immaculate condition and perfect location of this property.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$248
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing