We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place in the Cold Weather”
Review of Little Sweden

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fish Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Sweden
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
GreenLeadersBronze level
Champaign, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place in the Cold Weather”
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Just returned from a great family getaway in Door County.

Had never been to the area, and found it extremely friendly and restful.

Went in early April, and although many shops were closed, we found the natural beauty of the area better without the crowds.

Little Sweden Resort was so nice. We had a 2 bedroom condo which sleeps up to 8 people thanks to queen futon and sleep sofa also in the condo.

Everything was provided, even a garage and fireplace with the wood stacked for us. We were able to grill out on the deck, and two enormous whirlpool tubs in both bathrooms. Plenty of space for two adults in each one.

The recreation center was lovely, and we had the pool to ourselves most days. even though it was cold, we were able to run outside into the hot tub. Even played some tennis due to temps in the 50's. All equipment provided for sports, skiing, European walking sticks, shuffleboard, golf, etc...

Rented movies at the welcome center, and had plenty of cleaning supplies, laundry detergent, etc...

Great grocery store in Egg Harbor. "Main Street Market" had everything you need. Also dined at the Bistro across the street. Just great!

In the town of Fish Creek, check out the Olive Bar-Oliverie. Sample different oils, vinegars, and have it bottled to go. YUMM.

Best Winery was Stones Throw at Pennisula Point. sample 6 wines for $4.00, then you get to keep your wine glass. Bought 5 bottles.

Would highly recommend the area in all seasons. Early spring was a time for rest and reading. Tomorrow, back to reality!

Helpful?
3 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    18
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We're Shell Vacations Club members. We had the deluxe two-bedroom, with a real wood fireplace and an upstairs master bed and bath. It was a great time; very low-key. Frigid temps in March, but that made the hot-tub fun. Nice local art place (follow the signs). Did some wine tasting, some Swedish pancake eating, and most of all some family time in the really nice accomodations. It was just a weekend, but one that we'll remember for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank OliverandGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We had a fabulous stay at Little Sweeden! We truly can't wait to go back. The staff was friendly and helpful, the condos had everything and were very clean. This is by far the best resort we have ever visited.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — internet access
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank justplainfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

Stayed for a January weekend with a group of female friends. The condo was warm, cozy, perfect for a relaxing weekend. Our only complaint was directions. We arrived at 8:00 P.M. and the Little Sweden property was very dark. We eventually found the registration building which is also the recreation center. It is located quite off the beaten path and not close to the turn-off from Highway 42. Initially we went to the gift shops which are the first buildings you encounter when you turn in. Of course, these were closed and unstaffed, so we returned to our car and looked at a map that was sent with our confirmation letter. It was still a bit confusing. Our condo was located almost a mile away from the registration/recreation center so we never considered driving back in swim attire to use the pool or hot tub. It didn't matter. The unit was spacious, well-equipped with wood for the fireplace, and abundantly furnished with kitchen conveniences. Furnishings were comfy and the beds and linens were heavenly. Gorgeous, gigantic bathrooms with one huge whirlpool tub.
It did require a phone call to make our reservations. My attempts to do so on their website were ignored. That was fine with us....it gave me a chance to ask a few questions about the property and what, if anything we needed to bring.....food and clothing...personal hygiene products was about all. The view of the birch trees and hiking trails was serene and a perfect break from the stress of the big city and fast paced jobs.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
14 Thank untired04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Like the other reviewer said, this place has it all -- lovely accomodations with plenty of perks, including free usage of mountain/street bikes, golf clubs, tennis racquets, ski equipment, games, etc. We too were in the private Hedemora Hills section and it was perfect. The house is about as fully-appointed as you can get...bring your food, beverages, clothes and toiletries...everything else is provided! It's also conveniently located between Egg Harbor and Fish Creek so it's a short drive to both these charming towns.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2005

Our family recently stayed at Little Sweden/Hedemora Hills. We loved the natural surroundings at this resort and the abundance of activities for our children. Our accomodations were in the Hedemora Hills section which consists of 2 unit condos set in the woods. We were thrilled to see a mother deer and her baby one afternoon as we backed out of our garage and wild turkeys on a walk on one of the cross country ski trails. My husband and son used golf clubs provided by the resort to enjoy the nine-hole golf course on the property. We swam in the indoor and outdoor pools, played ping pong and foos ball and took games back to our condo to play by the fire in the evening. Very relaxing! The condo had a full kitchen and dining area, outdoor grill, huge master bath with whirlpool tub, washer and dryer, and outdoor deck.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank UndecidedSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Creek
1.3 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlement Courtyard Inn & Lavender Spa
4.6 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
370 reviews
4.9 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
757 reviews
1.3 mi away
AppleCreek Resort- Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sweden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sweden

Property: Little Sweden
Address: 8984 State Highway 42, Fish Creek, WI 54212-9717
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Fish Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fish Creek
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Little Sweden resort in Door County, Wisconsin your accommodations are fully-equipped with all of the luxurious comforts you desire. Choose from one bedroom or two bedroom villas, all decorated in subtle wood tones and with vibrant Scandinavian–designed furniture. In each you’ll find large living and dining rooms, fully appointed kitchens, fireplaces and whirlpools. Picturesque views provide the opportunity to enjoy nature at its finest throughout the year, and even a chance to glimpse deer wandering by. With so much to see and do you’ll find Little Sweden is absolutely ideal for family vacations, romantic getaways and group travel to Wisconsin’s Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Sweden Fish Creek, WI - Door County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing