We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer theater venue”

Peninsula Players Theatre
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Door County's premiere professional theatrical treasure, presenting Broadway-quality comedies, dramas and musicals in an enchanting shoreline setting. Now in its 82nd season, America's oldest professional resident summer theater provides a truly unforgettable theatrical experience for visitors and locals alike. Relax in a picturesque setting with a pre-show beverage before settling in to experience an incredible evening of live theater by a renowned artistic company. Discover why generations of patrons make Peninsula Players a "must see." June 13 -Oct. 15, 2017. Reservations recommended. Between Fish Creek and Egg Harbor on Peninsula Players Road.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great summer theater venue”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We saw the premiere of Murder on the Nile in August 2012. The actors were very professional. The theater is located in the woods and was full. All seats have good visibility, plenty of leg room. We stayed after the show with our daughter (who wants to be an actress) and met several of the actors who were very friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank IsabelleandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    35
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Theatre in Beautiful Door County WI”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This theater is a must do in Door County. Excellent plays in a very comfortable theater. Be sure to get to the theater early to enjoy the pre -show camp fire and to enjoy a cocktail and a beautiful Door County Sunset! This is truly a fun evening at the theater. Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HickoryDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Center, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our second visit to Peninsula Players. The grounds are so gorgeous and the plays are top notch. Don't miss this gem!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lombardi!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Saw the latest production of Lombardi Friday evening. Gorgeous stage and well acted. The facilities are wonderful. A huge bonfire welcomed us as we prepared to enter the theater.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I called the day before to get two tickets to the Play and was surprised that for $38 each, I could get pretty much any front seat I wanted. I chose two center seats in the second row. Surprisingly, it was pretty well sold out for "Murder On The Nile", so I felt lucky to get such good seats at the last minute. Before the play started we sat outside with about 60 other people and watched the sunset. It was a spectacular one! We watched as this bright red-orange globe appeared to slide right into the lake. It hung on till the very last moment and then it just disappeared. Evryone clapped vigorously, as if this was some planned prelude to the play. So be sure to go early, to see the magnificent sunset before the play.
The play was as memorable as the sunset. The actors all did a great job and led us to the suspenseful conclusion with just the right amount of tension and allure. All of the characters did a great job with this vintage Agatha Christie play. I particularly enjoyed the biplay between the elderly, snobbish, aristocrat aunt and the younger,poor Socialist man. who is trying to win the heart of her niece, There's a twist at the end, of course. But remember, this is mostly about murder, so it was fun to see all the facial expressions up close, as well and the dramatic acting. The shooting and the bloody scenes were minimal, but still not for younger children. Trying to figure out whodunit before the final conclusion, is the best part.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Players Theatre also viewed

 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Peninsula Players Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing