We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger than it looks from the outside”

Eagle Bluff Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Classic Boat Tour of Fish Creek
Ranked #11 of 27 things to do in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bigger than it looks from the outside”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

When you drive up to this lighthouse you think...what a cute and tiny lighthouse. Wrong. This lighthouse is locate on top of a 30 foot bluff, and at the top of the tower is 70 some feet high in the air. The lighthouse living quarters are the largest I've seen. Very spacious (even though...I think with 7 kids...very tight). We did the tour, and we learned all about the history. Most of the history had come 2nd hand from one of the 7 children who lived in the house. Most of the items in the house were donated by that family. It was all very interesting. I was a bit disappointed that we weren't able to go up in the lamp room. I would have like to have seen the view from there. Its 5 bucks for the tour, and its worth doing it once.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenniferK549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    68
    32
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lighthouse and Grounds”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you love old lighthouses you will thoroughly enjoy visiting this one. The lighthouse is in excellent condition. The grounds are beautiful, and the property sits high on a bluff overlooking Green Bay. Really a beautiful sitting. Parking is very close for those averse to walking.

The lighthouse is open from June to mid October. There are tours available that cost $5.00. Many reviewers complain about the fee charged for the tour. You are either into old lighthouses or you are not. If you are then the small charge is well worth it.

Door County is one of the few places in the country were you can view 11 historical lighthouses all within approximately a 40 mile radius. Many can only be seen by boat. Eagle Bluff is one that can be seen without touring by boat or owning a boat.

Eagle Bluff Lighthouse is in Peninsula State Park. Yes, there is a fee to enter the park, however the drive alone is worth the entrance fee, with views of woods and water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GilB867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth it to pay to add on the tour”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to see the lighthouse and found out there was a docent tour for $5. We found it to be well worth the money to hear the history and see the lighthouse that had been restored by the community (it's in the Park but a private group raised the funds and coordinated the restoration). It's fascinating to learn about the history of lighthouses in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wasn't expecting a fee for tour”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here hoping to take a peek inside not realizing you had to be part of a tour. We had visited state, national and county parks and attractions throughout the UP in Michigan and then into door county. The last thing we wanted to do was pay for more entrance fees (after paying to get into the park). Perhaps a tour through it might have changed my mind but I would not recommend this stop unless you're going inside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TootleLou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“beautiful - gorgeous view”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

this is an 1800s lighthouse with a storied history and a beautiful view of Green Bay. it still lights at night but not brightly - is somewhat dim. there is a story about one of the keeper's children dying tragically and continuing to return to the lighthouse. interesting.....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenofwaukesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Bluff Lighthouse also viewed

Baileys Harbor, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Eagle Bluff Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing