We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST in Door County!”

Whistling Swan Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Whistling Swan Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 32 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fine dining in a casual atmosphere with an ever changing menu that highlights local farms. World class Hinterland Beer and wines from around the world help you to relax and enjoy your meal while watching the town from the veranda in summer or gazing at the fire in winter.
Summit Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST in Door County!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Whistling Swan 3 night. The staff was so welcoming and we felt like family by the time we left. We had dinner there all 3 nights. Everything on the menu is of the highest quality As we heard the chef discussing the menu every afternoon it became very evident that much forethought is put into the dishes for the evening. The service is top notch along with the entrees!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul7347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    25
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Tasty food, Pretty location, So-So service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited Whistling Swan to celebrate our five-year wedding anniversary. We had wanted a fine dining experience - stellar food, good wine, warm but upscale atmosphere, and solid service. This restaurant hit three of four for us. The food was very good - we enjoyed a very satisfying four-course meal. Interesting flavors and overall just solid cooking. I couldn't enjoy any wine (I was pregnant at the time) but my husband found the list to be quite good, with a solid array of selections. The decor and ambiance was lovely - quiet and cozy, intimate. Great to celebrate a romantic anniversary. We sat on the porch section of the restaurant, overlooking the cute streets of Fish Creek. The service was the only downside of the experience - our server was very awkward. Not unfriendly, per se, but not overly inviting or welcoming, either. And his presence at our table was oddly timed - arriving when we clearly didn't need him, but absent when clearly we did. I would still recommend this as a lovely option to celebrate, but hopefully the service will improve.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Two_Travel_Bugs_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful again...and again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We absolutely love this restaurant! We've eaten there several times, and ate there again for dinner twice this past week. Both times it was fabulous! We were actually only going to eat there once during this Door County trip, but it was so good that we went back again the next night. The food, wine, service, and atmosphere cannot be beat. They have such creative dishes, made with locally grown ingredients. My husband and I kept commenting on how fresh everything tasted. Just delicious!

We will be back and look forward to that visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanson05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“When it's good and can be great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This small hotel nestled off the main drag in Fish Creek, Wisconsin is charming and when the kitchen staff is on (which is 70% of the time) the fare is wonderful, inventive and exciting. Good wine list accompanies the food. Pricing is reasonable. Staff is down home and accommodating.
I think this to be the 2nd or third best restaurant that fit my Mediterranean tastes in all of Door County. Both the Waterfront and Inn at Kristofors' are a notch above but these guys are very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doorman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I wanted to branch out from our usual favorites and try a different restaurant for our anniversary. The reviews for the Whistling Swan looked great, so we gave it a try. We were seated in the veranda which was very quaint and romantic. The service was excellent and sophisticated, which certainly complimented the dining experience. The menu is impossible to describe, but needless to say it is amazing. Utilizing all local providers, the creations and taste sensations are unique and delicious. I highly recommend the Whistling Swan...I know we will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistling Swan Restaurant also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Whistling Swan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing