We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best restaurant in Fish Creek”
Review of Cooper's Corner - CLOSED

Cooper's Corner
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Au Train, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our best restaurant in Fish Creek”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We went here twice, once for lunch and once for dinner. The atmosphere was wonderful. The menu had some unique options and the prices were reasonable. We would go back again

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank UpperMichiganNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    67
    49
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bad food made worse”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

But after reading some of the review...maybe more common than it should have been. Given the time of year most places in town were closed for lunch. We chose this place because the menu looked like it would be a little better than basic burgers and beers. The appetizers were ok, nothing terrible. We waited for our entrees - 2 burgers and fish'n'chips. As other parties sat down, ordered, were served, and left we started asking about our food. We were reassured that it was on it's way. Then the final check revealed that the order was lost.

When the food came out, the fish'n'chips was so-so. Then we noticed that the burgers were raw in the middle - my friend order medium-well and got pink, I ordered medium and got cold in the middle. We notified the staff, our server apologized and got the manager. The manager did not seem to understand that at this point we just needed to leave - a lunch going on 2 hours was not sitting well with our 2yr old son. She insisted on "making it up to us" by offering dessert. After spending all afternoon there, the last thing we could do was spend another 30 minutes there.

It is odd, I usually can find something good about a meal (I even eat undercooked meat - but not cold ground beef) and no one else in the restaurant was having any issues - but this could have been the worst meal I ever had.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SzczRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife parents and I went here for supper and had a good time. The drinks were good the food was pretty tasty and the atmosphere was pretty nice. The service was good and they actually had the bar near our seats and we were able to see a football game that was on the big screen behind the bar. Overall the experience was positive but with all of the other places to eat around the area I don't know that we would go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gross!”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We decided to spend a night in Door County to celebrate our anniversary & chose Cooper's Corner for a nice dinner. The place is extremely overrated & the food was actually gross! For the high prices, one would expect a more elegant atmosphere but we felt like we were in an old, outdated bar with loud music, TV's, etc. There were no linens, candles, water glasses--not even a paper placemat or bar napkin served with our drinks! My husband ordered a $28 ribeye which was not good, and I ordered what they called "surf & turf". The steak was so tough, I left it and the "white fish" was nothing more than a breaded fish cake. There were no salads-a side salad ranged from an additional $7 - $11 each. Our waiter appeared to be embarrassed at the presentation of our meals and even offered to send mine back (without us having to ask). We will NEVER return to this restaurant. There are many nice restaurants in Fish Creek--don't waste your money on this place!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Food was so-so. Very loud and and no where to go to get away from the gazillion TVs except outside which was cold and windy. There's no reason to return given all the other wonderful eateries in Fish Creek. Did like the selection of local microbrews, 'tho.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMYS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's Corner also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing