We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Review of Wild Tomato

Wild Tomato
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After camping, hiking and biking, my son and I were famished. We drove into Wild Tomato hoping for a quick pizza. The outdoor seating was awesome and the menu impressive. My son suggested the bread basket appetizer while we waited for our pizza. When it arrived it was so cool! It had all kinds of shapes, sizes and flavors including three dipping sauces. The smile on my son's face said it all. The most impressive part was when the waiter (Bennett) offered to pack our left-overs (there was a lot!) special because he remembered we were camping. Thanks for the excellent experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpfaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,048
    350
    73
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waunakee, WIsconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wait time and service killed an otherwise average brick pizza”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Tried the Wild Tomato the past two years on our annual Door County family trek. The first time we didn't get a chance to try the pizza due to the wait--we were told to "wait on the curb" for about 45 minutes. The waitstaff seemed unconcerned about the people waiting so we decided to roll over to the Gibraltar Grill--which ended up to be a great experience--highly recommend the Gibraltar Grill. The next year, we came in early June so no problem waiting. Finally got a chance to eat the pizza that Door County trip advisor travelers rave about. Problem is, only OK. I was left wanting, mom was a fan of the Asian pizza, and 11 year old daughter gave a fine but not fantastic review. Overall, would have given an average to good rating but due to the disappointment related to our initial visit and the second visit not living up to our anticipation, we were left feeling a little empty. We will be coming back to the Egg Harbor/Fish Creek/Sister Bay Door County area for years to come BUT Wild Tomato is no longer on our hit list. With the variety of flavors to be had in Door county, it is OK with me that a pizza place in not on the menu!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheesychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good thin crust pizza”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our pizza from Wild Tomato was tasty. We are from Chicago. We probably have half a dozen places within 10 minutes of our house with pizza that is just as good, if not better. While this is good pizza on a Wisconsin scale, it is nothing special for people from cities with great pizza

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly !”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have eaten here a few times and have never been disappointed. We have ordered take out when we are staying at a cottage and the salads and pizza are very good. Be bad and get the cheese curds !!
Our dogs were very welcome and it was nice to be able to sit outside with them - area is slightly small so it gets crowded, but if you want casual and good, try this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClancyDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had the Farmers Market Pizza...with Morel mushrooms.....was the best pizza I ever ate and my husband said we could drive up there again....just for a pizza...I know Morel's are only in season at this time of year so get there if you can while the getting.....Morel's.....is GOOD......the Pizza toppings are whatever is in season......

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Tomato also viewed

 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Wild Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing