We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place!”
Review of Bayside Tavern

Bayside Tavern
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in Fish Creek
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Delano, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We went here for a late dinner on a recommendation from a local. We were pleasantly surprised at how much fun we had and how good the food was. We really liked the hamburger which had a perfectly toasted bun and a patty done by hand. The chili dog was wonderful and my husband had them put chili on his hamburger. We liked it so much we went back the next day for lunch. They were very busy but we had good service and the food was still very good! The prices were also reasonable which is hard to find anywhere in Door County.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dcartermn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    82
    29
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
224 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Dy-no-mite Chili”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Soon as I walked in to this family-owned, family-run tavern, I knew I liked the place. The two old guys with a half glass of beer in front of each of them sitting at the sit-all-the-way-around bar made it feel like a hundred neighborhood bars I've been in over my lifetime. This is probably why so many locals recommended it, its the local watering hole where people go to watch the Packers, meet friends, or have a quick burger. Booths line the walls, but only one table sits in the middle of the room leaving the remaining floor space for dancing on weekends.
We tried a couple burgers and did not find them wanting. After a brief conversation with the owners daughter about chili recipes, she brought a sample of theirs for our opinion. When I was in college, I hung out at a tavern that had a 3 beer chili like Bayside's - you know, takes three beers to get rid of the heat!!! Bayside's chili is the closest chili I've had to the Avalon's since I graduated and eating that chili brought back a lot of memories. I'll go back to Fish Creek just for Bayside's chili. Their Friday perch fry comes highly recommended by the locals also. The price was average for the area, around 7, 8 dollars, so with a couple brews around $20 for lunch.
Only drawback is the parking. The Bayside is three doors down from the main intersection, parking is on street which can get tough some times particularly weekends. You may have to park around the block or park across the street in the Founders Square lot.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bassbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The local hot-spot bar”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Bayside seems to be one of the primary local bars in Fish Creek. It's usually quite busy and often hosts live bands. This would be 'the' local casual watering hole from what I've observed. Be prepared to pay a cover charge if there is live music.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30-40Psyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place...”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stopped in for lunch. Great pizza and salad. Nice atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Food was okay. Service was slow and inattentive. We had to wait a long time for our check too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kensethfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayside Tavern also viewed

Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Bayside Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing