We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A little bit of heaven on earth"”

Boyd's Mason Lake Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fifield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boyd's Mason Lake Resort
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hear American Plan resort (all three meals provided) and think golf courses, horseback riding, etc? Not Boyd's - this is the quintessential north woods resort where it's all about fishing, but with no cooking!! If you fish, there are four lakes on the property, three of them private to the resort. And expert guides to help you find the best spots on those lakes or nearby. If you want to try to catch a musky, they'll help you do it. My husband and I don't fish, but just love the quiet, restful atmosphere at Boyd's: Long Lake has no public access, only a few other private cabins, and a horsepower limit plus jet skis are banned. It is truly a place to wind down and recharge. Various members of my family have been going to Boyd's for about twenty years and we feel like "newbies." We've met many people who are the second and third generations to bring their families, so getting reservations can be tough with such a high return business. Every winter the owners do a major remodeling of at least one cabin, so although the cabins have a wonderful rustic feel, they are very modern and well-cared for. The cabins range in size from being suitable for just two people to up to 20 or 25. Consequently Boyd's works well for extended family vacations.Their web site describes the cabins quite well. Having a screened porch is important to us and can be surprisingly difficult to find in north woods resorts, but almost all of the cabins at Boyd's have them. The meals are excellent and through the years we've experienced them updating their menus and choices to stay current. But don't expect a Bistro experience, just normal food, well-prepared.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toucangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Boyds Mason Lake Resort is an outstanding resort with wonderful staff and great food. One of my favorite activities is sitting at the lake shore early in the morning watching the sun on the far shore. The kids love the beach and the swimming raft. The food is all good, but the Friday night ribs can't be missed!!

Room Tip: Good luck getting a cabin! Most of the Boyd's guests resverve their cabin a year in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family has been coming to Boyd's for decades. My grandfather came up for the first time in 1964. The rest of the family started coming in the mid-70's, when I was a little girl. It is the most wonderful place I can think of. We love it and now we come with my parents, brother and his family, my family and even a friend now comes with us and her family. The dogs love it too! It is a private, peaceful place with lots of land and four lakes. It's a relaxing environment with lots of wonderful food, plenty for kids to do, good fishing and wonderful atmosphere. It's not fancy, there's no TV or phones in the cabins but it's not missed. They have wonderful service, a maid comes to make your bed and straighten up the cabin every day, if you need something they get it for you. If you want time to unwind, time with the family or want to sit in a boat on a peaceful lake and you love to eat this is the place for you. Every year when we leave we start counting the days until we can come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyho2letsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at Boyd's for a work retreat and enjoyed it thoroughly. It is an American plan resort, so all three meals are included in the price. The breakfasts are great - there is an option of either the typical scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage or you can have the kitchen cook up some awesome waffles, pancakes, etc. The lunch wasn't really anything to write home about. The supper however, was phenomenal. The first night we were there we had beef tenderloin, which had to have honestly been the most tender and flavorful tenderloin I've ever had. The second night I had duck, which was a little on the fatty side, but excellent nonetheless. The cabins are rustic and showing their years a bit, but still well kept up. We stayed in the Terry annex, which had a little less charm than the main Terry cabin. I slept next to the window, and being the end of the season that Boyd's is open, it was cold out. Unfortunately I got cold quite a few times through the evening, as I was so far from the heat register. I heard similar complaints of cold cabins from other coworkers as well. All in all, I would say that if you're looking for a northwoods retreat, Boyd's is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MapMakinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boyd's Mason Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyd's Mason Lake Resort

Address: N12351 Boyds Road, Fifield, WI 54524
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fifield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Fifield
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family oriented resort now covers over 2600 private acres, with five spring fed lakes. For the serious and novice fisher person alike, there are muskies, walleyed pike, both largemouth and smallmouth bass, and a variety of panfish. Although the fishing is not as good as it was in the turn of the century, our various fisheries management programs are helping. Although the rustic outward appearance of Boyd's has been maintained our commitment to continually upgrade and maintain our facility has changed mush within. All eighteen cabins have been completely remodeled, new boat docks have been built, a recreation area and swimming area have been maintained along with an 18 hole disc golf course and over 30 miles of biking and hiking trails and innumerable other attractions, conveniences, and activities. It is our sincere commitment to provide our guests with comfortable, fully modern accommodations in a truly secluded northwoods environment. We believe we were fortunate enough to inherit. and hopefully wise enough to maintain. an exceptionally beautiful area of northern Wisconsin, and we would like to share this with you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing