We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Restaurant”
Review of The Silent Woman

The Silent Woman
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Fennimore
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Silent Woman restaurant is open for lunch and dinner Thursday - Saturday 11 a.m. - 9 p.m. We have a unique setting with running water through our dining area and a beautiful full bar. Join us for an excellent meal prepared by Chef Josh. With over 20 years of culinary experience and a deep passion for food. The Silent Woman is also an excellent place to host both large and small groups. We have a large banquet hall that can host weddings, reunions, large parties or meetings. We also have smaller rooms that can be reserved for smaller events. Please call for more information and we hope to see you soon!
Stitzer, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful Restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Silent Woman's atmosphere is wonderful with the sound of running water, the quietness that makes it easy for conversation, and the attractive decor.

Also, the food is tasty.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentWomanMgmt, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are so glad that you visited our restaurant and enjoyed your experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback - we really appreciate it! As a small, family owned business, your comments and support mean the world to us and we really hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    7
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best bar in fennimore”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

i've been trout fishing in fennimore for the past few years coming from chicago. this place has been closed for some time and i was anxiously awaiting it's opening. why? because the other bars in fennimore a dumps. i'm cool with dump bars, but after wading and hiking all day, i want something low-key and quiet. this is it. food prices are way too high for fennimore though. but, they have a spicey house-infused vodka that is incredible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentWomanMgmt, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are so glad that you visited our restaurant and enjoyed your experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback - we really appreciate it! As a small, family owned business, your comments and support mean the world to us and we really hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stopped here by chance, and it quickly has become our FAVORITE restaurant in WI. Order off the menu if you must, but if you want a real treat just ask your server to let the chef (yes, I said chef) surprise you. WOW, I love steaks and got steaks, my wife gets migraines and is picky, picky, picky and she loved it too! The side dishes could have been meals and the service was perfect. A drink in the bar, and a meal event in the restaurant...what a treat this place is!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BentleyLein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentWomanMgmt, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind feedback! We were really glad to have you at our hotel and happy to hear you enjoyed your food and drinks in the restaurant & lounge as well. We always enjoy getting to know new people - and really loved getting the opportunity to know you! Thank you, again, for your support of our small, local, family-owned business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Fennimore to eat”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have lived in Fennimore for a few years now and the Silent Woman has become one of my favorite places to eat. The menu on New Years Eve was amazing, the roasted chicken and lobster tails was simply wonderful. This restaurant has became great under owners. I wish this place the best and we will continue to eat here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hungryguy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentWomanMgmt, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! Receiving support from Fennimore locals is extremely important to us - and we are so glad to hear that we have become one of your favorite places in town to dine! We are also happy to hear you joined us for our special New Year's Eve dinner and enjoyed your meal. We love putting on special events! Next up: Mother's Day Brunch this upcoming Sunday! Thanks, again, for your ongoing support of our small, local, family run business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I recently had dinner at The Silent Woman and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! My girlfriend and I were very quickly seated on a balcony overlooking the rest of the unique dining area, which features a babbling brook surrounded by plants and stone that runs through a quaint "courtyard". The interesting interior decor gives one the impression of sitting outside to enjoy your meal, this having a therapeutic effect for those enduring a harsh Wisconsin winter. The food was absolutely amazing, I can honestly say that I was overcome with pleasure when experiencing the complex layers of flavor in the lobster bisque. The prime rib was amazing, and portions were enormous. You will not leave hungry! In addition to all of this, the staff was delightful. Save yourself a trip to Madison and treat yourself to an exceptional meal while nestled in the rolling hills of SW Wisconsin.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentWomanMgmt, Manager at The Silent Woman, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We really appreciate your kind review and thoughtful feedback. Thank you for your trip to our hotel & restaurant - it was truly a delight to host you here! So glad to hear that you truly enjoyed your meal. Chef Michael and our kitchen staff put a lot of time and effort into providing an extraordinary dining experience for all who come to eat here, so your words mean a lot! We hope to see you again! Thank you so much for supporting our small, local, family-run business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silent Woman also viewed

 

Been to The Silent Woman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing