We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Night Owl

The Night Owl
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Evansville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fort Atkinson, WI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Haven't had the opportunity to have a burger at the Night Owl for a couple of years. Three of us had dinner on Saturday night, 11/24/12, and the burgers are as good as I remember. Service was excellent and it was great to see so many friendly faces.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2danelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We came to see "The Blue Olives" play, our new favorite band, and were pleasantly surprised with the food,casual atmosphere and service at the Night Owl. The burgers were fantanstic. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“traditional Wisconsin tavern with better-than-average food, service & atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This tavern is located on a quaint strip of Main Street in my town, and I eat here frequently. The bar staff and wait staff are pro on the whole, and remember you, "Cheers-style." The owner is frequently on-site and makes a perfect martini when he's behind the bar. In my opinion, they have hands-down the BEST Friday fish-fry in the area. Love the burgers and chicken sandwiches -- my one complaint is that they charge $2.50 for fries -- they don't come with the meal. I recently had the rib special here, and it was outstanding! Wasn't expecting anything beyond your usual bbq rib, but these had been marinated and then cooked with a delicious spice rub -- almost a coffee or cocoa element -- they were incredible (and they wouldn't give me the recipe!) I hope they feature them more often. The whole place has been recently renovated with beautiful church pews as booth seats now -- pool table, darts, sports on several big TVs, drink deals during Badger/Packer games -- a nice traditional Wisconsin tavern with better than average food and service. Worth a stop if you're passing through.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not very friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Wait staff was rude, wouldn't give me broiled fish on Friday, even though every other GOOD restaurant will. There is no competition, so they pretty much have their way. Small bar filled with snobbish regulars. Bartenders are clueless, shouldn't be on your to go list.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank muskie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best burger in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Night Owl offers the absolute best hamburgers in town, and very possibly the area. In our visit to Evansville, we chose the Night Owl for our place to eat 3 different times. Fast and friendly service. The Night Owl is a bar, but don't be afraid to take your children and non-drinking friends with as the eating area is away from the bar area. If you are in Evansville, don't miss out on a great hamburger. And they do have more than burgers on their menu. And don't miss trying their beer cheese soup. Easy to find, right on main street.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveZ234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Night Owl also viewed

 

Been to The Night Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing