We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't even return a call or email to book rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodgings at Pioneer Lane
Ranked #2 of 5 Ephraim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wouldn't even return a call or email to book rooms”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

So my wife and I are heading up to door county for our 1 year anniversary in June and we wanted to book our stay at the Lodgings because it was the #1 BB on TripAdvisor and it came recommended. Since you can't make reservations online you need to email or call to book a room. Well my wife first emailed the Lodgings through their website about a week ago, then she followed up with two a phone calls, the first of which she left a message....the second she did not, because how many times do you need to email or call in order to get a response?!?!?. So even if her email message didn't got through they had a voicemail to call us back. Needless to say, we have yet to receive a call/email/fax/carrier pigeon, etc. regarding a booking........so can say we just booked our anniversary vacation stay at another Ephraim BB who answered our call on the first try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgingpioneerlane, Owner at Lodgings at Pioneer Lane, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I hadn't calculated just how popular our little “Mom and Pop” has become to not just be able to close up and leave the country for a family vacation even in March, our off-season. Hard to believe, but our destination had neither phone nor internet. But lesson learned: I will find someone to cover for me next time we leave the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
150
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I enjoyed my three nights at the Lodgings at Pioneer Lane. The rooms were nice and the bathroom was super with its whirlpool plus it was spacious. Everything was just great and I really loved the bed, big and firm. Hugh and Alicia certainly know a lot about Door County....they should, having lived there for at least 40 years. I was in Door County on business and the place was sited nicely and I could access what I wanted within a short drive.

Room Tip: I was trying to click on the left side of Fitness Center for a "not applicable" couldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided last minute to take a trip and were in need of a place to stay. We couldn't have chosen a better place than the Lodgings! The room was warm and ready when we arrived, the staff was super friendly and accommodating, and the room we had was amazing! We would recommend The Lodgings to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Leaf"...great view of the water, lots of windows, a balcony, whirlpool t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lodgings during our honeymoon, and we could not have been happier with the time we spent there. Alicia and Hugh made the registration process easy, and took care of everything we needed. We stayed in the Leaf Room, and found it to be very clean and comfortable. In fact, the pillows were such a hit with my husband that we are now scouring the web to find an equivalent! There were several different types of tea available, which was nice because we were able to have decaf tea to wind down before bed, and good strong black tea in the morning. Overall, we loved it and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The building was designed by the proprietor, and the layout couldn't be better. As far as I coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGirl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgingpioneerlane, Owner at Lodgings at Pioneer Lane, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
It is our great pleasure to host honeymooners, and also provide a wide variety of teas and (good) coffee too to our guests. We also love it when guests love our pillows! Thanks for finding us, Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Lodgings lives up to it's great reviews. My room was VERY comfortable, clean, and had all of the amenities I could ask for. The people were very friendly and helpful. The whirlpool was wonderful and the fireplace was great. Even Starbucks coffee for the coffee maker! Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannebpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Blossom Room. Bed was extremely comfortable; shower was amazing. Bring your own conditioner and lotion, as the inn only provides shampoo and shower gel, both spa quality. The kitchenette was perfect for our needs, and we were pleasantly surprised to find an electric skillet among the items offered. The room is quite spacious, and we really enjoyed the fireplace during the cold winter eves. Close to Peninsula State Park, where we enjoyed hiking. We practically had the entire park to ourselves! Plan to get some groceries/supplies in Fish Creek if you go in the winter. Not much is open in Ephraim. Door County in wintertime is splendid. I'd highly recommend avoiding the crowds of summer and experiencing the quiet beauty of this unique part of Wisconsin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seg94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

For many years I've gone to Door County as a solo female traveler. I tried a variety of places over the years that were within my budget and seemed to fit what I was looking for. I found Lodgings at Pioneer Lane a few years ago and my search was OVER. The rooms are so comfy and cozy and feel like a home away from home. I feel very safe here and well taken care of. I've gotten to know Hugh and Alicia better with each stay and they are delightful owners, happy to help out in any way. Ephraim is my favorite town on the peninsula, so it's a double bonus that their place is located here. I feel their prices are very reasonable and actually a real bargain off season (my favorite time to visit.) I adore this place and will always stay here when I visit (until I move up there some day!! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
756 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Grove Resort
Pine Grove Resort
#8 of 8 in Ephraim
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
387 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
369 reviews
1.5 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgings at Pioneer Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgings at Pioneer Lane

Property: Lodgings at Pioneer Lane
Address: 9998 Pioneer Lane, Post Office Box 275, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Ephraim, Door County's most picturesque vacation destination, our guests are pampered in one of our seven spacious rooms, each uniquely decorated. Appointments include: sitting area (five with gas fireplaces), secluded private balcony or porch, kitchenette, king-size bed, tiled bath and two-person whirlpools, Cable TV and WIFI. Eagle Harbor is just a few steps away from our front door. Our inn creates the perfect setting for a romantic getaway anytime of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodgings at Pioneer Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodgings At Pioneer Lane Ephraim, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing