We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beach, beautiful sunsets”
Review of Pine Grove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Grove Resort
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Stayed 3 nights sunday through tuesday in mid July. Booked room day before we traveled so choice of room was limited, next time would ask for second story room front view on northside of wing with office so could see sunset from balcony. We were on first floor on north wing. The room was standard and a little musty smelling. Nice patio doors onto balcony. Small refrigerator without freezer, small microwave and coffee maker with fixings in room. We brought a toaster. The continental breakfast is really just coffee, tea and muffins. They also have juice but tend to run out if you don't get there at 0800am. They serve cookies in the afternoon as well. The small beach across the street is great, sandy and a pier with many lounge chairs, water is very shallow now. The pool room has large windows over looking the bay with good sized pool, hot tub, game room with pool table, darts and several electronic games. There is also an exercise room which is kept locked. There is a picnic table with grill in back along with a basket ball hoop with balls. Most people staying here when we were here were out all day so we had pool and beach to ourselves when we were there except at sunset. Beach is for use of resort guests only. Ephriam is a "dry" town meaning no alcohol is sold any where in town including restaurants so it tends to be quieter than other locations, no night life which makes for a pleasant atmosphere. Resort is within walking distance of shops, restaurants including Wilson's Ice Cream shop and the Old Post Office Restaurant which has a really good fish boil every night.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank rc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 129 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2007

I wanted you to know what a pleasant stay we had at your resort this last weekend. It was wonderful. The rooms were just right, and what an extra treat to have a mini refrigerator and microwave. The cookies, coffee….were a very nice surprise. I was just so pleased with the pool area, hot tub and the beach area. Just GREAT! Thank you so much for making our stay a delight. I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tagcak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We arrived on a Friday and had a wonderful time. We went to The Old Post Office for a Fish Boil...best place ever! Then when I went to take a shower, I either froze or boiled over. They were having water issues and since it just started, they couldn't get it fixed until MONDAY!!! I took three showers and it was quite difficult with the water temp. The front desk never gave us a discount or anything.

Also, we stayed on the first floor. If you stay here, make sure you ask for the second floor if you don't mind carrying your luggage up the stairs. Every morning, we were woken up by the people upstairs walking around. Not their fault, but it was very loud.

The room was very open but it took awhile for them to give us everything we needed such as shampoo, cups, and a wash basket in the bathroom. The hot tub was very nice. Great location, good front desk help, but not a wonderful experience with the water/supplies.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kamb1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resOrter7, Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2007

We have corrected any of the issues with our hot/cold water in the showers since July 2.

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We stayed the weekend after Labor Day. The room was one of the upstairs end ones closest to the road. It was very large and very comfortable. The Jetted tub was great. We could walk to restaurants nearby and the little beach and pier across the street were great for sitting at sunset or in the morning to read. We spent most of the day out seeing the other towns and returned to "our room" in the evening to just rest and relax before dinner. Road traffic is slow and very quiet. Pool was NEVER occupied and that was really nice. It was immaculately clean and the abundance of fluffy thick towels was a very welcome surprise. The room had a refrigerator and a kitchenette with sink. The place was very quiet and that was just what we wanted. I would stay again and again...Greg

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GentlemanFromVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

The Owners were quite rude when asked about the possibility of checking out a day early for a 4 day weekend....Said I should have reviewed their cancellation policy and that I was responsible for all the nights...Had this conversation with them during check in. The rooms are very bland, no Door County charm...basic hotel room......very outdated. Table in room was tippy/broken....lighthing too dark to read by at night......bad loud music in pool area.....Many nicer, more charming choices to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jizell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We stayed at this place for two nights. Door County is so beautiful, and Ephraim is a good location, sort of in the middle, but towards the northern tip. Apparently, they have tried to fix the place up, compared to what it used to be. A girl (whose family stays there every year) mentioned that it has changed a lot for the better.

Check-in and staff- The reservations were in order, and the ladies (one was the manager) were helpful. They were good about giving suggestions of where to go, and knew a lot about the area. I think that one has had the place in her family for years.

Room - Our room was clean. The furniture seems to be a bit dated, but the carpet, walls and bathroom were neutral, and looked pretty new. It is not a huge room, but the way the furniture is set up, it worked well for us. They had several bottles of water in the frig for us, as well as popcorn on the microwave. It was such a nice touch! Our kids thought it was awesome. There's a frig and microwave, plus a room in the hall with irons and ironing boards, all look new.

It is a pretty quiet place. The pool area is very clean, and the water was wonderful. The chlorine was too strong, though. There is a beach across the street that belongs to the motel. It is not very big; however, it is sandy well into the water. A lot of the beach areas in that county are pretty rocky. The water was perfectly clear, and felt awesome. Our older kids (ages 3 and 5) had a ball.

You can easily walk around Ephraim from here. The town is very small. There is a public fishing pier just a very short walk away, although my husband and son didn't have much luck catching anything!

6  Thank MommyTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Галия Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swede825, General Manager at Pine Grove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
262 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
250 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
230 reviews
1.2 mi away
High Point Inn
High Point Inn
#6 of 8 in Ephraim
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Grove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Grove Resort

Address: 10080 Water Street, P O Box 94, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range: $107 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine Grove Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pine Grove Resort. We are the only resort in Ephraim to have a piece of natural, untouched shoreline, along with a private sand beach that tapers gently into the water.Our rooms are spacious, comfortable and include many amenities free of charge. Our luxury suites include private whirlpool baths. From our heated indoor pool, whirlpool or new pool sundeck, you can gaze down to the sparkling water of Eagle Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Pine Grove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Grove Hotel Ephraim
Pine Grove Resort Ephraim, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing