We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
59
10
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
59
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit second floor king sized bed was very comfortable wonderful view of the bay sunset cruise bathroom area get away ice cream great bed front lawn door county three nights other guests a wonderful place to stay heated pool green bay fall colors
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 71 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

We were first time visitors to Door County and came across this place on tripadvisor. Not really sure what to expect of the Inn or of Door County, but as soon as we arrived we knew we had made the perfect choice. We drove all around during our trip and never once saw a place we would have rather stayed. Ephraim has the most gorgeous lake views, it's the most adorable little town. The Inn is lovely, well kept, and has outstanding views! Everyone who works there is very friendly and helpful! It's also so close to everything. Can't wait to come again, and next bring our families to show them this treasure we found!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank amandalynla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

As other reviewers have said, this old inn with a beautiful westward view of the town's harbor from every room has been beautifully restored, is immaculately clean and very comfortable. As to the comfort, I will add that our room (and I assume all others) has been equipped with a state-of-the-art heating/cooling system that is controlled by a thermostat and -- unlike typical wall mounted heat pump/air conditioners -- is extremely quiet.

The quiet of the place is also enhanced by the fact that the inn is set back from the main road (State Highway 42) that runs close to the shoreline in front of the inn, although the 25 mph speed limit on the road is also instrumental in suppressing traffic noise.

Aside from the lack of microwave ovens in rooms noted by others (there are small refrigerators) the inn does not serve food. The closest restaurant serving breakfast is an excellent one called the Chef's Hat that is about 1/3 mile away by a walk or drive that is scenic and pleasant, but may become a bit tiresome to do every morning.

The inn has a very tiny sand beach on the bay about 150 yards from the rooms. Most guests prefer to use the pool that is much closer. But another nice amenity is that sit-on type kayaks are provided at no additional charge for guests who are willing to roll them down to the beach and back up the hill on the wheeled dollies that are provided.

All in all, a great place to stay at competitive prices for people interested in vacationing in a traditionally beautiful small resort town atmosphere offering many outdoor activities on land and water nearby.

Room tip: The rooms in the main lodge have a better view of sunsets, but all guests can view them from the common lawn area.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cetus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

My wife and I have been vacationing at this hotel for over 40 years, and have always loved the location. The new owners have recently upgraded the room functionality and decor with new walk-in showers, granite vanities, Keurig coffee machines, flat-screen TV's and great new comfortable beds. They have also improved the grounds, beautified the landscaping, and installed a wonderful fire pit where you can relax each night and watch the amazing sunsets. Our heart felt gratitude goes out to the new owners for greatly improving an already outstanding property.

Room tip: Best water views in town!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

We have been comeing here once or twice a year for a long time. Last year the new ownership improved the rooms and raised the prices. It seemed worth the upcharge. Called for a reservation two weeks early. They only night available was Saturday as it is high season. Ok we stayed 2 hours away the first night as there were no other hotels available....spent the day hanging out waiting for check in. Got to the hotel only to be told we had no room. No other rooms in the area. Four hour drive on a Saturday night. Ruined our whole weekend. They did manage to say they were sorry. Long time customer, ruined (rare time away) weekend and oops so sorry. No other comments or attempt to rectify. Worst hotel experience I ever had.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie K, General Manager at The Water Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

As the General Manager I am very sorry for the misunderstanding regarding this reservation. When the front desk representative called me that late Saturday afternoon I came in immediately to try and find the error that we may have made. When I arrived the front desk representative was looking up numbers for area hotels to call. I then asked her to wait so I could look through our system and back up procedures to see if there was ever a record of the reservation. I unfortunately could not find anything. I asked if they had received a confirmation from us. They did not receive one nor did they remember giving us their information. I then called multiple locations to see if there was availability anywhere to try and help them find a place for the night. As noted it was high season and there was not a room available in the county. Our policy when taking phone reservations is to always ask for the guest's address, best phone number to contact them, email address to email reservation confirmation to, credit card information and to always verify arrival date and departure date before hanging up. A confirmation is emailed with in 30 minutes of hanging up and if it will be longer we will let the guest know before hanging up. If you do not give us any information and do not receive a reservation confirmation we strongly encourage you call us back immediately. Since there was not any documentation from either party it is not our responsibility to rectify the situation.

Again, we are truly sorry for this unfortunate situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

We have always preferred the town of Ephraim over any other town on the peninsula because of the wonderful water views and the fact that it is rather peaceful in relation to some of the others. The Water Street Inn has the best view of Eagle Harbor of any place in Ephraim. This was our first stay there and it met our needs perfectly. Our accommodations were a room only, not a suite or a kitchenette as many of the other places in town have, but that room was newly remodeled and quite lovely, and the price reflected that we didn't have all that other space we didn't need or want to pay for. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and the grounds well-maintained. We enjoyed the nightly fire pit as an opportunity to meet other guests. This will be our new place to stay during our future visits to Door County.

Room tip: The best views are in the main building in the center of the second floor.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews