We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fish Boil”

Old Post Office Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Portage, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun Fish Boil”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Fun presentation as fish were cooked - tasty basic buffet with great cherry pie. We sat outside with water view. An enjoyable and relaxing evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    200
    46
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“We were here for the Fish Boil”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

And we were so pleased. We have been to many a Fish Boil in Door County, but never this one. Had a 6:30 reservation and they recommended us to come around 6:10. In so doing, we were able to listen to the whole spiel on boiling fish and jokes from the fish man. Then everyone gets in line and takes their food and is seated.

If you want more, they come around, and you can get more. The fish, onions, potaoes and cole slaw were delish and one of our party didn't want fish and got the choice of ribs or chicken. The waiter and waitresses come around and debone your fish if you like. Such attention to detail I have not seen in a restaurant. The children in our party got chicken strips and fries. Then we all got cherry pie for dessert. The waitresses also go around pouring ice tea or coffee. And then, everyone gets a great scenic view of the water and sunset. I really thought it was a smooth operation and will bring more people back to this wonderful Fish Boil.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish Boil Excellent”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Definitely would recommend this fish boil, our first time to one and Earl made it fun and the fish was excellent.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Door County Fish Boil...and More!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Fish boils abound in Door County, Wisconsin but the one at the Old Post Office Restaurant in Ephraim is our favorite. The boil master does a good job explaining what he's doing to prepare the dinner and tells a lot of corny jokes...as he is supposed to do! I like that the staff comes round to your table to de-bone your fish if you want them too; extra little perk in this restaurant that I have not found in others. The rest of the meal is pretty typical but they DO include onions in the boil, again something other restaurants might not do. The onions give a bit more flavor to the fish and potatoes but it's the copious quantities of melted butter you pour over all that makes it wonderful!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodwriter50459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fish Boil Worth the Experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Went to a fish boil on Saturday evening. Had never been to one before. It was an awsome experience and the food was delicious, including the home made breads. The cherry pie with ice cream following the meal was fantastic. The wait staff deboned the fish, which was appreciated. Earl, the boil master, was a hoot. His jokes were corny, but funny. If you've never been to a fish boil before and are in Door County, Wisconsin, this one is a must.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKCN47933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Post Office Restaurant also viewed

Ephraim, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Old Post Office Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing