We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Getaway”
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Door County in the winter is just as beautiful as the warmer months. Our stay at the Edgewater Resort was everything we were looking for and more. We relaxed and forgot about everyday life for a few wonderful days!

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon Suite.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Deb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for making the Edgewater Resort your New Year's destination. We are thrilled to hear of your positive experience during your recent stay. We appreciate the time you took to give us a review. We strive to have all experiences at the Edgewater Resort be positive and comments such as yours help us maintain the best possible service for all our guests. Again, thank you and we hope to have you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Edgewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 785 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent New Years at the Edgewater. This is our third time at the Edgewater. It's a nice, clean hotel. Location is perfect. We had a balcony overlooking the frozen bay. It was
too bad we couldn't take advantage of it. The view was still great with large balconies. We've stayed in their suites and their general rooms. Both are very nice. The beds are very comfortable. The only thing they don't have is an ice machine if you need ice if you are in their general rooms.
I would recommend the Edgewater, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #204 this time. Great view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 175Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The suite was fantastic! It had everything we needed for a winter getaway. Door county was in the off season which was great. It was quiet and there was not a lot of people there. We had reservations at The Inn at Kristofers for New Years Eve and the food was very very good. Additionally, we had a massage at The Spa which was wonderful as well. The suites have a fireplace and whirlpool tub, so it was a very relaxing week.

Room Tip: The suites have a full kitchen so you can bring smacks, etc. Additionally, there is a Piggly Wiggl...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Hi Kelli:

What an awesome review! Thank you so much - we are very happy that you had such a lovely experience. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The rooms were beautiful. Whirlpool nice shower full kitchen, the beds were not the comfiest though, I got a groupin so our stay was majorly discounted. The regular rate is quite expensive so I would wait for a deal. The staff was really friendly and the entire resort was beautiful and well kept. Overall, was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinton_ssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am almost afraid to write this review. Edgewater Resort is such a wonderful retreat that I don't want it to become over popular and not be able to reserve a few nights when we visit. We stay in a suite on the 3rd floor that has a private balcony and a spectacular view of the harbor. As mentioned by someone else, there are a few stairs to climb to get to this suite, but we find it worth it, even for the extra cost. The suite provides plenty of room: a large living area with fireplace, small but ample kitchen with usual utensils, big bedroom with whirlpool and plenty of room in the bathroom for two to use. The room is clean and the front desk has always been responsive to our questions. One reviewer used the word cozy, I would have to agree. We had a great time, Ephraim is in the middle of activities in upper Door County and we could not have found a better place.

Room Tip: Definitely chose a room in the main building. Both the second floor and third floor have balconies w...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in a nice suite on the 3rd floor, which had a tremendous view. The only problem is that the steps seemed to go up and up and up. The stairwell was not cooled, so by the time we got to the top we were sweating profusly. We found out later, the rooms on the 2nd floor also have a nice view, and cost much less. When on vacation, who wants to cook in the kitchen, when there are so many interesting places to eat. I also don't like paying for a Jacussi, have one at home we never use!! When we go back, we will stay in one of the more modest units.

Room Tip: Lake view side in the units overlooking the pool, which closes early.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a great time. Super clean room with all the amenities. Full Kitchen fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Awesome getaway for couples. Friendly and informative staff. Well worth the money and we will be back. Thanks Edgewater Resort for a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EWRGM, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Steven:

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We hope you come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
393 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
401 reviews
8.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range: $109 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim
Edgewater Resort Ephraim, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing