We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water, water everywhere (in a good way)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Water, water everywhere (in a good way)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews, we decided to stay at the Edgewater for our 4 day Door County family vacation. Upon check-in we were charmed by the beautiful flowers and porch swing outside the lobby. Service was friendly and efficient. Our 1 bedroom premium unit was large, clean, functional and well-appointed. Loved the cozy feel of the decor. Enjoyed the whirlpool tub several times and felt pampered using the bath salts and loofah provided. The view was beautiful, right across the bay from Peninsula State Park. We enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on the porch right outside our suite, watching the sailboats and kayaks float by. Sunset views were awesome from the porch and from the pier across the street, where we lingered to watch the stars come out. Our daily visits to the pool and spa were wonderful: area was clean and the views were great. We enjoyed the fish boil at the Old Post Office Restaurant right next door. Do be aware that the resort is located right next to highway 42, so there is a fair amount of traffic going by right off the front porch. With windows open, street noise bothered hubby but closing the windows solved the problem. Not much traffic from 11 PM til 7 AM. It was fun to stay in such a lovely, well-restored historic building and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 550travelgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    161
    54
    14
    12
See reviews for
151
478
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We just got back from our three night stay at the EW. Since it was peek season, a three night minimum stay was required. We stayed in room 204. I guess its the view, and not the comfort in the price of the room. The room was awfuly small. Every morning I woke up with back pain. The mattress were harder than bricks. I had to take a bath to sooth my pain. We enjoyed all the amentmenties at the resort. Also, the food at the post office was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was our third visit to Edgewater Resort and we loved it again. I don't think you can beat the location and the view you are afforded from this resort is unmatched in Ephraim! The decor of the rooms and the modern amenities are superb and, unlike other reviews, we did not find the beds uncomfortable at all. The front office is very helpful and the resort is within walking distance of a number of restaurants in Ephraim. Having been visitors to Door County for 25+ years, I cannot imagine staying anywhere else ... great location, wonderfully decorated rooms, awesome waterfront views and a prime location to watch the sunset ... it doesn't get much better than that!

Room Tip: Other than the 3rd floor, all rooms share a "common" veranda. While it is a little more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRGWAGMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We decided a few days before that we wanted to go back to Ephraim. We had never been to the Edgewater Resort, but always wanted to stay there because of the incredible views of Eagle Harbor, the sunsets (my favorite thing in Door County) and the great location in Ephraim. My positive experience started with Adrienne, the woman who answered the phone and helped me get a room at the last minute. She was more than helpful and by the time we got off the phone I felt like I'd made a friend. My husband and I had to switch rooms because they didn't have any other vacancies. But, they made it as painless as possible - early check in and offers to move our stuff.
The suites are really nice and much more spacious than other places we stayed at previously. The 2nd day, our first floor suite was even nicer than our second floor suite with a slighter better view. Everything worked well - AC, kitchen, WIFI, whirlpool tub and the towels are plush and plentiful. (Other places we stayed in Door County we had to practically beg for towels.) We found the whole experience relaxing and fun. We will be going back next year.

Room Tip: I love the view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Fabulous view of Eagle Harbor. Loved having a small kitchen, living area and separate bedroom. Great breakfast at the Old Post Office Restaurant which is attached to the hotel. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichiganTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We greatly appreciate the time you took to write this review. We are very please that you had such an excellent stay. I have shared your comments with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our first floor King Suite was spacious, nicely decorated and easy to share for our family of three. We loved the sunset views and made great use of the pool, the picnic tables and the gas grill. We found the kitchen to have all the pots, pans, dishes, glassware and utensils we required as well as a full size refrigerator. This location was ideal for local strolls for ice cream, kayaking and sailing, as well as a great jumping off place centrally located to drive to Door County beaches, State Parks, the drive-in, miniature golf and other attractions. The staff of the Edgewater Resort helped us plan a birthday celebration recommending a bakery and helping us by purchasing helium balloons on our behalf which saved us a 40 minute drive each way to the party store.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Edgewater is a venerable hotel in Door County, having been in operation for well more than a century. My wife and I spent a week there this summer and found the location to be very good, the view of Eagle Harbor to be lovely, and the facilities in our room to be very good in almost all respects. While we might have minor quibbles about the size of the whirlpool tub (tiny), the really hard mattress, or the noisy breakfast service right outside our window, these are small matters in an overall very positive stay. Recommended for those looking for an attractive, comfortable, and conveniently located place to stay in Door County, but if you are looking for a couple’s get-away, this might not be the place. There were lots of children running around and slamming doors at 6:30 in the morning and even with earplugs, we were awakened daily by the din.

Room Tip: Might want to stay on the south end of the property - away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
2.9 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.8 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
22.0 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
9.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Property: Edgewater Resort
Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim
Edgewater Resort Ephraim, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing