We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterbury Inn
Nearby Hotels
Edgewater Resort(Ephraim)(Great Value!)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset Inn & Suites(Ephraim)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ephraim Motel(Ephraim)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Grove Resort(Ephraim)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Breeze Resort(Ephraim)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Little Sister Hill(Sister Bay)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Open Hearth Lodge(Sister Bay)(Great Value!)
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
84
43
12
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
43
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor and outdoor poolsbasement levelfull kitchencoffee and hot chocolatesister baydoor countydining tableloft roombasic amenitiesgreat place to staynice condoshower curtainwooded areafirst floorsofa sleeperflower bedssmall kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 148 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

For the past ten years, our family has been coming up to Door County every summer, and we have never stayed anywhere but the Waterbury Inn. It is situated just north of Ephraim and has an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. The rooms are nice as well and have a small kitchen and balcony, as well as a clean bathroom. There are plenty of things to do that are nearby in Ephraim, Fish Creek, and Sister Bay, all under a ten minute drive away.

If you decide to stay here, don't be surprised if you find yourself coming back year after year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drnicksir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been coming to the Waterbury Inn for many years, since our kids were small. The location and the price are selling points. The Inn is also very clean and kept up well, with beautiful grounds. However, the units have not been updated in all of the years we have been coming. Still same countertops, appliances and "country look" furniture and decorations. The place would be so much more attractive if it was modernized and probably would be able to charge more (not necessarily good for me the consumer!). The ducks/geese, etc. in the hallways need to go and an updated, cleaner look would be much more appealing.
With that said, the place is immaculate and the lobby with game room, computer, and big screen TV is enjoyable. Ping pong, playground, and pools are all fun for families with smaller children.

Room Tip: Stayed in 219, nice loft room on the end, facing the woods.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

I am so glad that the Waterbury Inn has been your choice of lodging when you visit Door County. Over the last five years our owners have continued to make improvements by updating furniture, mattresses and carpeting in all of the units. I would like to thank you for your comments. We find it very helpful when guests give us specific feedback like this. I will pass your suggestions to my Board of Directors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I would love to give Waterbury Inn a better eview because everyone on the staff was friendly, kind, helpful and polite. The property is immaculate and it is quiet at night so you can actually sleep. The amenities make it feel like a resort. However, that said, it is not a comfortable one bedroom plus loft suite with young children along. The king bed in the loft has only one small closet, no drawers. The larger tv is up there, not in the living room . There is no room for a crib or playpen in the king loft or the first floor bedroom which has just has enough room for a queen bed and two closets so we were forced to put the "pack and play" in the precious small living space. The only bathroom is on the first floor. The open stairway to the loft is hazardous especially if you have to get up in the middle of the night to use the downstairs bathroom. the kitchen is so small that it only holds one person at a time but it was very well equipped, clean and everything worked . I just kept thinking, this would be so much better if it was designed by someone who understands space usage and if it had two bathrooms. I realize the slightly lower price reflects those shortcomings as it is less expensive than others in the area. The outside playground is nice for kids and the pool (both indoor and outdoor) are adequate. It is very nicely located one half mile from mini golf and just outside Ephraim on the way to Sister Bay. If you are two couples or a couple and two teens and don't mind sharing a bathroom, it's fine. The small balcony was unusable because they allow smoking on the balcony and the couple staying under us was smoking and it drifted up to us.

Room Tip: Good for a couple or two couples who don't mind sharing a bathroom
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. All of the Waterbury staff take great pride in being known as one of the friendliest stays in Door County. We are also appreciative that you noticed our attention to detail and standards of cleanliness that we adhere to. It is important to note, however, while we provide the many amenities that we do, we are not a Luxury Condominium resort. The Waterbury Inn has always sought to be an affordable and family friendly alternative to the higher priced Luxury Condominiums found in the area. We are sorry that you were unable to enjoy your private balcony due to our policy that currently allows smoking on them. But we're especially appreciative of your comments about this situation. It's something that we're currently addressing with our Board of Directors and feedback like yours helps us to enact the changes necessary to make our guest experiences even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were very comfortable during our one night stay. The hotel room and common spaces were very clean. All of the staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet. Like the complete kitchen even though we did not have time to use it.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a balcony. Next time we will ask for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to The Waterbury Inn for a little weekend getaway. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, our unit was exceptionally clean, and the amenities were endless. They provide free coffee and cappucino in the lobby any time of day and have plenty of games and DVDs to keep you entertained on a rainy day. With a full kitchen complete with utensils and dishes, we were able to save money by hardly eating out at all. Located within ten minutes of the drive in theater and many shops and galleries, we had a hard time fitting it all in! We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff strives to make everyone's stay a memorable one. Door County has many things to see and do. On your next trip to Door County we hope you come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews