We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you in need of a decent stay at affordable price?”
Review of Waterbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterbury Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here because it offered a kitchenette witout the $250.00 price tag....SCORE!! The staff was wonderful. I have allergys and after reading the reviews, I saw that it could be "musty" in the basement level. Not at all! They offered to upgrade us, but I wanted to check it out first and it was fine, so no upgrade. The room we were in was clean (except the shower curtain) and comfortable. We could have even brought our two kids and had PLENTY of room. The amenities were nice (bikes, pool still open end of Sept. in WI, indoor pool and hot tub). It wasn't a 5 star hotel, and we can't afford a 5 star. It was resonably priced, as clean as larger more expensive hotels, had a great location and the staff was friendly. We were sad we only stayed one night! ( The only recommendation I could make to them would be to have a small cont. breakfast, that would be a nice touch).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMBC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterburyinn, General Manager at Waterbury Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your comments about having a great stay in our garden level. Broad steps were taken to address the realtively few issues that we had down in our garden level. After previous complaints, the rooms were stripped down to the concrete. All the concrete floors have been re-sealed with a moisture barrier. New pad and new carpet were also put in and we've had no issues since. I also will let our board of directors know about your continental breakfast idea. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Waterbury Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived around 2 p.m. and checked in early.
The front desk gal was trying to corral her two dogs....who barked and barked.
Very laid back front desk atmosphere. I guess I was expecting something a little more formal.

Stayed on the 1st level as I've read the 'garden' basement level was musty smelling.
Even at that the hallways smelled funny - musty. Room smelled a different kind of funny...more floral or something.

Room was okay. They still use old fashion 'keys'. One for the outside door and one for your room, so you are always carrying two.
Outdated bathrooms and kitchen, but it was nice to have a kitchen. Had all the basics and more.
Bed was comfy. Would have been nice to have some blinds or curtains that blocked out the light though. There were cheap miniblinds on all the windows.
TV was a bit small.
Killed a few bugs (earwigs & spiders) while there. Which was kind of yuck.

Hotel was on the main drag (Hwy 42), so a little busy if you thought you'd want to walk to downtown Ephraim, that probaby would be a little 'hairy' as this Inn is located a bit north.
The room was quiet.
Pool was clean and pretty vacant of activity. Pool temp was okay.
Fitness center was small - after thought.
Lobby was nice. Played some checkers and surfed a bit on the computer. BIG screen TV also located here.
Free hot chocolate, coffee.
They also had free use of bikes, but we didn't try them out.

Room Tip: Do not choose the garden level (basement) rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingmom3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Waterbury Inn for one-night. We had a two bedroom loft and was perfect for our family with 2 small children. We enjoyed the pool, though it did get a little crowded. The artwork in the room was great and from local artists. They also have free DVD's that you can borrow for a night, a fitness room and even a room for table tennis.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We did not receive a warm welcome upon arriving. Weekend receptionist was on the phone for at least 3 minutes, never once acknowledging that we were standing there until she got off the phone. And then when she did there was no apology for the waiting. 1 small bathroom for a room that accommodates 6 guests. 1 pillow had a blood stain.
The maid didn't replace the coffee we had used after our first day and the floors were not swept. Room was overcrowded with large furniture in a small space. Lighting was dim. Overall just not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cdavmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent a very pleasant night at this Inn. It has both an indoor and outdoor pool, both
were warm and clean, along with the hot tub. Our room was so much more than we needed for our one night stay but reasonably priced. One bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, living room and even a little patio area. It was located between Sister Bay and Ephraim so both were convenient for dining and other activities. They did not offer breakfast, but with the full kitchen and a nearby grocery store that was not an issue. We are looking forward to a longer stay this fall.

Room Tip: Room 109 is stuck in a lower corner with the air conditioner, bushes and no view.. I think any other...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We just checked out of our room and would highly recommend this resort to most anyone. The location was great for us, just outside of Ephrim in the woods. If you want to be in the hub bub of activity this is not the right location for you..you need downtown Fish Creek. We used the pool (in and out), the complimentary bikes and DVDs, kitchens in all units, complimentary Coffee and cappochino, excersize room. We would have to think hard come come up with extras that were not supplied. The only downside was there was a faint musty smell in our unit and we had ants in the kitchen.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor if possible may not be musty, but there is no elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milkman_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This inn is reasonably priced and while not in the center of Ephraim, it is a short 5 minute drive to the center of town. Our room was simple but clean and adequate with refridge, microwave and dishwasher. Indoor and outdoor pools make this a nice family getaway. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBGTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
4.7 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
236 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Landing Resort
The Landing Resort
#4 of 7 in Egg Harbor
215 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Ephraim
240 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
395 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
Coachlite Inn of Sister Bay
#4 of 17 in Sister Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbury Inn

Address: 10321 Water St, State Hwy 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Ephraim
Price Range: $137 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterbury Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterbury Inn is nestled in the woods of North Ephraim. Just minutes away from so many great attractions. All units have kitchenettes, living space, flat screen TV and dvd player. Extra amenities: outdoor/indoor pool, hot tub, gas grills, picnic area, childrens play area and ping pong room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Waterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbury Hotel Ephraim
Waterbury Inn Ephraim, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing