We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scones ever!”
Review of Chef's Hat Cafe

Chef's Hat Cafe
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Minnetonka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best scones ever!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Yummy breakfast, nice outdoor seating. The scones were delicious! We will go back!
Was walking distance from our resort

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Selma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    129
    39
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First visit..for breakfast...we will return”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We received a $10 gift certificate for Chef's Hat with our Hotel
package. We were greeted and seated promptly. Server offered drinks. Good breakfast choices. Coffee strong. Food came out in a timely fashion. Food was very good. We sat by a window..great view of the water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank muffy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Gourmet”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just a great restaurant! We stopped here right when they were opening for the evening and had the place to ourselves. It was full by the time we left an hour later. The indoor area is small and open but not crowded. The decor is pleasant and minimalistic. It has an excellent view of the bay. There is an outdoor area which would have been nice but our kids would have wanted to play in the large front yard which was on the main street. The service was excellent and our waiter was friendly and helpful.

The food was American fare with fresh ingredients. The child's portions are the same as the adults. There were a lot of inventive salads which were nice for my husband's pre-surgery no fat diet. The meal was so large we didn't have room for desert but they had a variety, not just cherry pie. One huge point is that they don't serve wine. Just a bit of a bummer when you're looking for a glass to go with dinner. They do allow BYOB, but there isn't a store in the immediate vicinity.

Finally, the prices were on the higher end, but you are in vacation territory and the quality of the food was worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaraChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Salmon Salad EVER!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I've been here several times and I keep coming back for the Salmon Salad! The tiramisu is to die for!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LUVRBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Hats off to the Chef!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Creative menu, excellent service and beautiful presentation- for dinner I'd ask if you can BYOB, because ephraim is dry, but the food is consistently delicious here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennerWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef's Hat Cafe also viewed

 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Chef's Hat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing