We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

The Summer Kitchen Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The Summer Kitchen is renowned for its homemade soups, fresh bread and yummy desserts. At least five different soups are available daily. Order a single cup, two cups, a bowl or our Taster's cups and enjoy! All lunch entrees include a cup of soup. Dinner entrees are served with a baked potato, a side of vegetables, homemade bread and your choice of soup or salad.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Good food at a reasonable price. Very friendly staff. Nice atmosphere, not large but a good breakfast. Would recommend

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    81
    38
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Mexican breakfast, tiny place”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Good food, but we were seated in an akward gazebo type room that was cramped. Cool server though - gave us some good tips for other places to dine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mccrackend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point, WI
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Soup Soup Soup!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I heard this is the place to go if you want the best soup around. For $11 you get a bowl of soup of your choice. I think there were 5-6 different soups and they all looked great.
I selected the spicy tomato dill and yes, it was great.
I could not finish it all and our waiter put it in a to go container for me to take home. Finished it last night and it was better the second time around.

I recommend Summers Kitchen for their soup.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stillalarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Keep Driving at don't Stop”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Over $40 for a grilled cheese and perch dinner with no liquor!

The perch dinner at $17.95 for 4 small pieces of fish was s rip off. Baked potato was good. You get literally a teacup if soup with you meal. Soup bar had 5 types to choose from. I liked the chili but my girlfriend did not care for the chicken dimpling soup. A second teacup would cost you an additional $5.95! Unlimited in $15.95 and it is 80 degrees inside with no A/C. This probay OK for Mexican food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BestREMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fair food, bad price”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I agree with one reviewer, if you have a soup bar offering 5 homemade soups, don't charge $15.00 to enjoy it. Who has ever heard of paying that price for an 'endless soup and bread bar'? Our lunch was $40, which was not worth the quality of food. I don't mind paying if the food quality is equal to the price. This was not the case. The restaurant is cute, the staff nice, but not worth the price.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summer Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

 
Sister Bay, Door County
Ephraim, Door County
 

Been to The Summer Kitchen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing