We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Eagle Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We just returned from2 nights at the Eagle Harbor. The first night was ok, although we were disappointed with the bed. I felt it was waaayyy too firm and had a backache the next day.

The main problem was the 2nd night. We were in our room about 7:30 p.m. It was obvious that a family with small kids had checked in above us. The "pitter patter" of little feet sounded like elephants. We have (grown) children but can't imagine letting our kids run crazy like that in a hotel! But I will say that obvioulsy, the hotel totally skimped on insulating their walls/floors! The people above us continued to run either the shower or the whirlpool into the night, and unfortunately for us, the kids woke up very early and it all started over again by 6:00 a.m. When we told the people at the front desk the next morning, they were sympathetic but didin't even offer us free coffee! I thought that was cold!

With all the other places to stay in D.C., we wont' be back. If you are looking for the most comfortable beds you can find,(for adults, not necessarily for families) stay at the Ashbrooke. You won't be disappointed! Wish they had been available :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAHARBGM, General Manager at The Eagle Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

We are family owned & operated and because we designed Eagle Harbor Inn to be a place we ourselves would like to stay. We custom designed and built 6 architecturally distinct houses with varying numbers of suites in each. We could have taken a less costly route and built one large hotel but wanted to create the B&B feel in all the suites so we did not skimp. It sounds like you had a noisy family staying near you and I wish we were given the opportunity to contact them as we are available 24/7 in order to tend to our guests. I do hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again and you can take advantage of our free morning Door County coffee service and mid afternoon homemade treats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 391 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2010

Returned to Eagle Harbor Inn in September for the Door Co. Century. For the past several years we have stayed in the condos. We first stayed in the B&B many years ago but when we could not get one one time we took one of the condos and have gone back ever since. Service has been wonderful and friendly. Condo is off the road so it is always quite. Rooms are well built, clean and the decor is very nice. Mattress was so nice we bought one for our home. It is a nice 2 block walk along the harbor into town, unfortunatly 2 blocks is not enough to walk off the ice cream cone from Wilson's. It has a great work out room along with a pool. What we do miss is the breakfast that we use to get from the B&B, but we can walk to Old Post office for cherry pancakes in minutes and Chief's Hat is also wonderful. Location in the Door is great, easy to get anywher from there. There is no real night life there which for us is perfect. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padidion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our trip for our 2 year anniversary.

Room:
We stayed at the Inn in the Serena Room. It was a very nice room, but expensive. I would probably pick one of the smaller rooms next time because the extras in this room were probably not worth the extra money. My husband made the comment that he felt like he was staying in his grandmothers' house. The room also had a really funky smell. Good thing I brought a candle to get that smell out of the room. The nice things about this room were the balcony; It's the only room with a balcony. The whirlpool hot tub was wonderful. The fireplace was a nice touch and I loved the canopy bed with the light fabric draping over - so beautiful. There wasn't much lighting in this room - it was pretty terrible. A small light by two chairs and a few by the bed but at night, it was really difficult to see if you were searching through your luggage or something.

Breakfast:
If you stay at the Inn, your breakfast is included. If you stay in one of the little "houses" on the property, your breakfast is not included since you have a kitchenette available to you. Breakfast included cold cereal including granola and corn flakes, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, homemade cake of the day and a homemade hot entree. When we were there the hot entree was cherry french toast, cheese and bacon egg souffle, cinnamon apple french toast but this varies everyday. They also put out lemonade and cookies or something sweet in the afternoon. Everything was delicious. I was concerned at first that the breakfast would be the typical continental breakfast but my husband can EAT and is was enough to satisfy his hunger.

Grounds:
The place is well maintained with a lot of flowers and a beautiful patio for the summertime. There is also a small playground for the kids which is a nice touch. They also have out some games you can play on the grass.

Location:
It's centrally located in Ephraim right by the water. You just have to cross 42 and you are at the water. It's nice to be able to leave your room and walk to get coffee, ice cream or do a little shopping. Great location.

Amenities:
There is a small indoor pool with a sauna that my husband and I used once. In that same building is a workout room with a treadmill, elliptical and weights. There is a TV in there as well. I never saw anyone else in there. Free wifi was much appreciated considering we got my cell signal practically in the whole town of Ephraim.

Staff:
Everyone was really friendly and helpful. At one point my husband and I were looking through some menus that they have there for a spot for our anniversary dinner. A woman came by to tell us what she recommends. At breakfast they were there with a smile to fill your coffee cup back up.

All in all we would return. It was a pleasant stay, a little pricey but the food was good and the location was great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Stayed here for the 1st time and we will be coming back the next time we are in door county. The room we had was wonderful it was clean the bed was comfortable especially the pillows. Room service was great as well. The lady at the front desk that greeted us very helpful as well as she pointed out the best places to eat in door county. We went golfing at penninsula park one day also fantastic views and the course was in great shape.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbesgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The Eagle Harbor Inn is a nice quaint property with a great door county location. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suites. The suites offer modern comfort with old world charm. They are nicely furnished and comfortable. The service was not up to expectations given the fairly high price - breakfast is not included unless you are in the inn and the front desk seemed a little impatient giving suggestions for restaraunts and the like... Interesting. Overall, I would consider staying at this hotel again but would likely explore other options that would offer a little more service, ammenities and special touches for the high price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaltrotter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed in one of the one bedroom suites. Nicely furnished and comfortable. Guessing it had not been occupied for a while as it smelled slightly musty, and there were a couple of dead flies on the window ledges. The service was not up to expectations given the fairly high price (our room was not refreshed), and we were a bit disappointed that breakfast was not included having read the reviews online about how good it was (but it was stated on the room description). We had a kitchen (nice) but oddly the "welcome letter" included a notice that we would be charge $20 if the dishes were not done. No breakfast and we had to do the dishes. Interesting. Overall, it is a good location, but the service did not match the price or expectations we had given the reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpdtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the EHI for 3 nights in August 2010.
While our suite ("Sumak 2") was clean, roomy and on the surface well equipped, the construction of the buildings was clearly done on the cheap judging by the large amount of noise from adjacent rooms.
We could hear ever step and movement made by the family staying above our bedroom, so any ideas of peaceful afternoon naps went out the window.
The bathoom sink was perfectly designed to splash water from the faucet directly onto your crotch. It's been a long time since we've laid on a mattress so squeaky and thin (could feel the springs through the cover).
May sound nit-picky, but for an off-peak rate of $150/night we were expecting better overall quality.
The whirlpool in the bedroom, gas fireplace and good location are plusses, but if you're looking for a quiet place during the summer (no school) we'd recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#2 of 8 in Ephraim
840 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
410 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
247 reviews
8.5 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
345 reviews
21.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Harbor Inn

Address: 9914 Water St, P.O. Box 588, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ephraim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#5 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range: $129 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Eagle Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Harbor Inn is located on Ephraim's main street in the Historic District offering elegant B&B Inn rooms & Whirlpool Suites.. We are family owned & operated & we live here, so we will be here to welcome you! On property we offer an indoor current pool, wonderful workout room, sauna, free Wi-Fi,free pickup at Ephraim Airport; Fresh lemonade & Homemade Treats late-aft in the Inn & Free Beach Chairs! A delightfully full home cooked breakfast is offered gardenside for our B&B Inn Room guests & Suite guests can opt for a Homemade Breakfast Delivered, for Breakfast in Bed at an additional price! Honeymoon Packages include Swedish Massages, welcoming champagne with Homemade Truffles, among other amenities, and 2 nights in our lovely Whirlpool Suites with a 6' Whirlpool in the master bedroom with custom soaps & loofah,a Two-Way Fireplace which you can view from the Whirlpool, ipod docking station, HDTV cable tv, with dvd player; and fully equipped apt. Size kitchen. We are open every day for you to celebrate YOUR Occasions! Weddings up to 72,Family Reunions,Car Clubs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Eagle Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eagle Harbor Hotel Ephraim
Eagle Harbor Hotel
The Eagle Harbor Inn Ephraim, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing