We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip to Midwest "Vermont"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Eagle Harbor Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip to Midwest "Vermont"”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Trust your choice of B&B's and you won't be disappointed. Ephraim was a perfect town; quiet, relaxing, easy to get to anywhere. If you want hustle and bussle, we recommend driving to it vs. staying in it. Lodging was very relaxing; we stayed in the Serena room [plenty of room; cozy fireplace]. Breakfast - yummo. Hospitality - superb!

The only disappointment was no view of the Bay. However, it was easy to walk to it.

This was the 2nd part of our 40th anniversary trip and we loved every minute of it. We visited lighthouses, drove many backroads, saw two plays, and of course, shopped!

Room Tip: Want additional room? When looking at pictures on the website, look for a room with at least 2 easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OGV26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    61
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
188
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was the first time in Door County for my girlfriend and I, and we found our stay in the whirlpool suite in the Hawthorne House to be just perfect. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We made use of the pool, sauna and workout room. Not very large but no one else was ever using them while we were so that was not a problem. The room itself was just what we were hoping for. Not too extravagent, but very cozy and romantic. I would absolutly recommend Eagle Harbor to anyone who asks. Not too fancy, not too many frills, just a perfect romantic cozy stay!

Room Tip: Whirlpool suite in the Hawthorn house was cozy and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in unit Sumac #4, which was a great choice. The highlights of the unit included a sunny breakfast nook surround by windows and a center-positioned glass fireplace that could be viewed from the living room, kitchenette, master bedroom, and Jacuzzi. This unit was in the very back of the Inn’s property so there was a lot of privacy on the back balcony. The balcony includes a table and chairs to enjoy wine or a meal while overlooking a picturesque woodland. The service at the inn was delightful. The location was also excellent – antiques, coffee shop, soup shop, etc. were right next door. Additionally, the Inn was right in the middle of many of the best attractions of Door County, including Fish Creek, Egg Harbor, Sister Bay, and the breathtaking Peninsula State Park. We highly recommend the Sumac #4 at Eagle Harbor Inn.

Room Tip: A great Inn all around, but not all of the rooms are the same. We recommend Sumac #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emodaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been going to the Eagle Harbor Inn for over 15 years to celebrate our anniversary and we hope to be coming many more years to come. We came here for our honeymoon when there was only the bed and breakfast inn. We returned for our 12th anniversary and now stay in the whirlpool suites located in the houses surrounding the inn. I can't comment on the inn since it has been so long ago but the suites are great. The two way fireplace between the bedroom and the sitting room provides a lovely romantic touch that we thoroughly enjoy. The whirlpool is a favortie of ours and contrary to an earlier post is plenty generous for two people unless you are supersized.
Best of all the suites are always clean and fresh, the kitchenette is just big enough to give you room to prepare a light meal but doesn't take up too much space.
The location is wonderful if you don't like being in the hustle and bustle. It is located in Ephraim which is close to Fish Creek where there is more action. The Eagle Harbor Inn is nestled amongst the trees. The driveway is right off the highway but you feel like you are in your own private area once you turn in. The houses are located far enough from each other giving you more of a sense of privacy than in a bigger hotel.
The staff is always friendly. I think the breakfast that you can purchase if you are in the suites is a bit overpriced but worth it if you don't want to head out and like the pleasure of breakfast in bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItravelerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Flew from UK to Chicago and The Ryder Cup last week and decided to take a tour before the event. Booked a night at The Eagle Harbour Inn and was disappointed. Despite its name there is no view of the lake or harbour, the buildings being the opposite side of the main road and hidden in trees. The room was adequate but nothing special with a small double bed, poor lighting, cheap furniture and no hair dryer. It was overpriced at 182$ for BandB. This is more than we paid at the Historic 5 star Phister Hotel in Milwaukee the night before ! To add insult to injury, the breakfast was a joke. Bowls of cereals a piece of cake and a pot of Egg bake do not constitute breakfast. There was no fresh bread and only when asked did they rustle up eggs and a bit of toast. The cook didnt even think they had any bread to start with!
Truly disappointing....oh yes Ephraim is also dry so no G and T before going 10 miles for a decent dinner in the next town.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamsHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The grounds on the property were beautiful. The accommodations were attractive and comfortable. We stayed in a two-bedroom whirlpool suite. The description of the inn was a little unclear and only one bedroom had a whirlpool. The tub was actually in the bedroom and, because of the see-through fireplace between the living room and the bedroom, it would be a little difficult to use the whirlpool tub if someone else were staying in the suite. In fact, all in all, that see-through fireplace made this an odd suite for two couples sharing. We positioned a high-back chair in front of the fireplace to avoid looking at our traveling companions in bed. Also, the TV was very small and positioned a little high. While watching football, we were unable to see the score, what down it was, etc. because the screen was so small. But we liked the inn quite a lot and would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Canada1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
183 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Eagle Harbor Inn is a mixed bag. It consists of multiple homes in a wooded setting and has two components, which need to be clearly understood or the reviews may seem confusing: first, there is a B&B with breakfast and, second, there are suites that do not include breakfast. The inn was recommended by friends who did not communicate this to us; we did not do enough research and chose the B&B since the value of the whirlpool to us is minimal, but one of us likes breakfasts. This was a big mistake.

While the B&B is generally quite nice, our room and bathroom were very basic, small and lacked amenities; the decor was not to our liking (quaint and rustic) and was dark. If all you need the room for is sleeping and showering it is fine, but if the weather is bad and you have to spend time in the room it is not great as there are only two wing back chairs and a small TV. We slept well and had a very nice breakfast, but for the price think there are better values and had we known better would have selected the suite.

The whirlpool suites, however, are great. Very large and very nice decor with fireplace open to both sides of a wall separating the well furnished living area from the bedroom, a balcony/deck, kitchen, and whirlpool tub. While breakfast is not included these are very good value and more like being home.

In summary the whirlpool suites are highly recommended and if we ever return to the area would book one of them without reservation as they are the better value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flylikeahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Resort
Edgewater Resort
#1 of 8 in Ephraim
741 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
381 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#3 of 10 in Fish Creek
229 reviews
8.5 mi away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
324 reviews
21.5 mi away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Harbor Inn

Property: The Eagle Harbor Inn
Address: 9914 Water St, P.O. Box 588, Ephraim, WI 54211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#2 Green Hotel in Ephraim
#5 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Eagle Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Harbor Inn is located on Ephraim's main street in the Historic District offering elegant B&B Inn rooms & Whirlpool Suites.. We are family owned & operated & we live here, so we will be here to welcome you! On property we offer an indoor current pool, wonderful workout room, sauna, free Wi-Fi,free pickup at Ephraim Airport; Fresh lemonade & Homemade Treats late-aft in the Inn & Free Beach Chairs! A delightfully full home cooked breakfast is offered gardenside for our B&B Inn Room guests & Suite guests can opt for a Homemade Breakfast Delivered, for Breakfast in Bed at an additional price! Honeymoon Packages include Swedish Massages, welcoming champagne with Homemade Truffles, among other amenities, and 2 nights in our lovely Whirlpool Suites with a 6' Whirlpool in the master bedroom with custom soaps & loofah,a Two-Way Fireplace which you can view from the Whirlpool, ipod docking station, HDTV cable tv, with dvd player; and fully equipped apt. Size kitchen. We are open every day for you to celebrate YOUR Occasions! Weddings up to 72,Family Reunions,Car Clubs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Eagle Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eagle Harbor Hotel Ephraim
Eagle Harbor Hotel
The Eagle Harbor Inn Ephraim, Door County, WI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing