We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Lapas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Lapas to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Lapas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   | 4 KM South , 600 Mtrs East From Tarcoles Bridge, Camaronal 103-4023, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camaronal
Warwickshire UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We travelled to Costa Rica as part of SAGA's Jewels of South America holiday and our second hotel stay was at the beautiful Villa Lapas. As the coach meandered its way down, down a very steep hill we marvelled at the lush vegetation of the surrounding rain forest. We and our luggage were unloaded from the coach and we were given the keys to our rooms.
All the rooms were in single storey blocks and ours overlooked the lawns and not too far from the pool and the main dining room.
The twin bedded room was quite spacious for two friends, was clean and bathroom and toilet led off from bedroom. The room wasn't luxurious but nevertheless was perfectly pleasant and served our needs.
Outside each room was a bench which could be used for sitting on to watch the wildlife in the magnificent grounds or simply to drape wet towels etc to dry. Each block also had a water cooler outside for refilling bottles of water.
All the water was perfectly safe and drinkable.
We were there on an 'all inclusive' basis SAGA holiday so we were allowed certain 'free' drinks and ate buffet style food. It was ok nothing more than that. The staff in the dining room were a bit surly and the barman positively rude! In fact he was so negative, he soon earned the nickname 'Senor No!'
The pool looked rather dirty but we discovered it was perfectly clean, but the tiles were of a dark colour which made the water look a bit grim.
Overall it is a hotel worth visiting for its naturally beautiful surroundings, wildlife, peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the middle block overlooking the lawns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Watford England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights and found it quite relaxing. The rooms are simple - two rows of terraced cottages a short walk from the main building - but have all that is needed. The evacuation notice on the back of the door told us what to do in the case of earthquake, and the candles in the bedside cupboard hinted at electricity failures, but neither of those events took place. The cottages overlook lawns which stretch down to a river, where several species of birds could be seen (and scarlet macaws flew overhead from time to time). Both the lawns and the footpaths were shared with black iguanas, and the Carara national park is just a few kms away so the whole area is good for wild-life watching. Food was plentful and well presented, and the barstaff were friendly. For some reason a replica of a deserted village has been built just over the river, housing another bar and another restaurant, together with a fake church and a couple of shops. The most authentic feature was that it too was deserted for most of the time, although the bar was quite wecoming. But it seemed unnecessary. Villa Lapas is not a luxury resort, and does not pretend to be,but it is a nice spot in which to spend a few days close to nature, with clean sheets, good food, and cold drinks

Room Tip: Nothing to differentiate the rooms except that the higher numbers are a longer walk from the bar. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel, Wi, Usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for the second time in three years, and noted a dropoff in quality from our previous visit. We still liked the location along the river, and were able to see quality birds and other wildlife right outside our rooms. The food is still good, but does not seem to be as good as it was three years ago, and everything else seems a bit worn. I'm not sure why, but staff morale seems low. When I asked how to give tips for restaurant staff, a tip jar appeared on the bar. Most places have a tip box for all the staff to share, but the fact that I had to ask in order to have this option was puzzling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Small basic rooms, poor food and very little to do - the "sky way" walk offered by the hotel is pricey, requires a 2 mile drive up a steep road and is just a short unmemorable hike with a guide. Unless you are going very early in the morning, all you will see is lots of plants and ants -hardly worth the pricey $30 a head they charge to do it. The pool looked less than clean. That said, there are good activities nearby, including the Jungle Crocodile Tour (don't miss it - really well done) and Vista Los Suenos ziplining. Jaco has some good restaurants - try El Hicaco for excellent seafood and outstanding service. It's a good half hour by taxi to Jaco if you want to get a decent meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABRM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camaronal hotels

Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had planned to stay in Jaco 2 nights... glad we didn't. This hotel was ok. Beds weren't that comfortable. Breakfast was just ok. Beaches were dirty in Jaco. We did have a good dinner in town thought. We moved down to Manuel Antonio for more nights. We got a bad rain storm while we were here so the next day when we hiked in Carara National Park the bugs and humidity were so bad we could hardly stand it. I heard macaws but never saw any which was sad but the bugs literally drove me out of the park. The were horrendous.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tldarby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

good location for birding the section of coast and Carara NP but best if you have your own transport. The hotel wasn't really clean, the "all inclusive" angle is only because its a bit of a trek to elsewhere, the food was really poor. The staff were pleasant enough but the place seemed understaffed and dated. A bit Faulty Towers like! Not sure how people are being positive about it - maybe we timed our stay badly but I'd keep your stay to a minimun or look elsewhere, maybe on the coast and allow time to travel a bit more. We stayed at a range of places in Costa and this was by far the worst.

Room Tip: get an upgrade, the cottage style rooms higher up along the drive were best.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bikingbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a new stunning property in the forest on a hillside with fantastic views of the forest below and ocean. Awesome sunsets with the Nicoya peninsula in the distance. I'm not a birder, but did recognize the toucans. Very intimate (five rooms I believe) with several decks for enjoying the views. Rooms were gorgeous with large windows facing the ocean. Chef was outstanding; next time we'll make it a point to have more meals here. With having all doors open all the time (for the breeze, smells and forest sounds) and being in a rain-forest, we did have some insects in the room. Aside from this, an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: views from top floor were outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaronal
5.0 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#11 of 22 in Puntarenas
3.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#3 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cerro Lodge
Hotel Cerro Lodge
#1 of 1 in Garabito
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
7.9 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
20.2 mi away
Hotel Praiamar
Hotel Praiamar
#3 of 22 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Lapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Lapas

Address: | 4 KM South , 600 Mtrs East From Tarcoles Bridge, Camaronal 103-4023, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Camaronal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camaronal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Lapas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Lapas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapas Hotel Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing