We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful Trail

Good exercise if you go from Elroy all the way to Sparta. No steep hills but definitely a hilly... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
SunflowerDame
,
Appleton, Wisconsin
Amazing tunnels

Take the time to read the historical markers. The tunnels are really something built in the 1800s... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2018
2Blondboys
,
Mondovi, Wisconsin
Read all 114 reviews
  
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
98
14
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews longest tunnel bike ride crushed limestone great ride shuttle driver light source miles per hour starting point rode miles tunnel entrance bike shop rest rooms elroy sparta railroad bed state trail small towns along the way bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good exercise if you go from Elroy all the way to Sparta. No steep hills but definitely a hilly incline much of the way especially leading to each of the 3 tunnels. So much history and each tunnel is different. It was about 37 miles from Elroy to our B&B in Sparta but you certainly could do smaller sections, turning around to head back to where you started. We were shuttled back to our parking.

Thank SunflowerDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Take the time to read the historical markers. The tunnels are really something built in the 1800s. Keep in mind the trail grade increases as you approach those 3 tunnels. We split the trail into 3 rides always biking uphill towards the tunnels to start and enjoying the ride downhill at the end of the ride. We expected to see many bikers, but with 3 visits we saw very few. Where are the bikers?

1  Thank 2Blondboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

This is bike riding experience you can't pass up! Historical limestone trails of 3% railway grade hills makes this a ride for all ages. Suggest riding west to east as is still more "downhill" in this direction. We stayed in Sparta and hooked up with bike service that shuttled us with bikes to Elroy and back to Sparta. Approximately 38 miles with few areas to stop on the way. Shuttle driver points out this for you. We met and saw many people of all ages from all over the world. You do need a light source when you go through the rail tunnels and signs ask you to walk bikes through because wet limestone is slippery. And still more trails we didnt ride east of Sparta! World wide known trails! !

Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

This trail is just blocks from my home. Very nicely cared for trail. Several scenic spots along the way. Also many shaded areas from the heat by trees. Very relaxing and enjoyable.

1  Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

Don’t miss one of the great biking trails in Wisconsin. We started in Sparta and made it to Wilton. We planned to go all the way to Elroy by the previous day rains and the newly laid out sand made the trail rough to navigate in areas. We’ll be back to try again.

3  Thank suekd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Great trail to bike, or hike. Only slight inclines, nothing difficult. Don’t forget a flashlight for the tunnels!

1  Thank Moonbaby2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

This 33 mile ride is a great one - good for beginners and experienced cyclists. Our suggestion is to catch a shuttle at 8:30 am at Speed's in Sparta, and go to Elroy to start the trip. Shuttle was $50 for two of us and our bikes, and allowed us to ride the entire trail. Good flashlights and/or headlamps a must!!!!

6  Thank SmhJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

Speeds bike shop rents bikes. They'll even take you as far out on the trail as you want and drop you off. You ride back to the bike shop. We always made reservations at the bike shop to be sure we were going to get bikes since we drove 200 miles to get there.

2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We planned a long weekend trip to ride the entire length of this historic trail. Unfortunately, the weather hampered most of our plans, but we were able to sneak in a few sections between rain storms. We rode from Norwalk west so we could experience the long #3 tunnel which did not disappoint! The second opportunity we had we opted to ride from Kendall to Norwalk which included another (shorter) tunnel. The bucolic countryside was a joy to behold. I've seen other reviews complaining about the crushed gravel trail being a problem or less than desirable. We experienced no great issues outside of some mud and soft spots and this was after two days of torrential rainfall.

Thank kempro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

My wife and I biked two 10 mile segments of this trail last weekend. Its beautiful, its woodsy and mostly shaded with occasional views across beautiful hills and farmland. Its all chip trail (not paved). Its on old railroad bed and there are 3 tunnels, largest close to a mile long and shortest a quarter mile. They are a bit wet and very dark. Even in the middle of the day you will need a flashlight or headlight. Trail regulation is that you walk your bike thru them and you definitely need to walk your bike thru. The entrance to each tunnel is particularly scenic.
Trail fee is $5 for a one day pass and its well worth it.

2  Thank drmpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews