We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate”
Review of Wickman House

Wickman House
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Ellison Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Wickman House is located in a historic lodge in Ellison Bay, Door County. Offering sandwiches from Paying tribute to the property's original owners and namesake, this historical landmark was reborn as Wickman House in 2012. The renovation and design of the property are dedicated to restoring its history with an eclectic blend of original decor from the early 1920's. Also true to the property's original purpose: the restaurant's focus is on sustainable agriculture, featuring a menu inspired by fresh, seasonal ingredients sourced from local farms and gardens. Finally, the property's enhanced space strives to be a true gathering place, much like The Ellison Bay Lodge was nearly a century ago. The proprietors, chefs, and staff at Wickman House strive to provide their guests with the ultimate dining experience through professional service and the use of only fresh, sustainable foods. All seafood is humanely harvested and sustainably considered. Nearly all ingredients not arriving from the sea come from local Wisconsin farms, artisans, and growers. All baked goods, desserts, sauces, stocks, and soups are made in house from scratch, just the way the Wickman Family would have wanted.
Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First rate”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We are regulars at the Wickman House for 5 reasons. Great food, great service, wonderful ambiance, friendly staff and good value. It's the perfect place for a fun evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizprof4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    44
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere; Great Food!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at the Wickman House. The bar area is very fun - unlike anything I have seen in Door County. We tried a variety of craft cocktails and all were wonderful. The French 75 was particularly tasty and refreshing! As for dinner, I think the next time we all might just order the southern fried chicken thigh appetizer in bulk. It isn't that our entrees were not great; they were. But those chicken thighs are amazing!! Service was prompt and friendly. Atmosphere was very comfortable - dress up or down; it doesn't matter. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Birthday”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Last fall we were alerted to the Wichman House by a server in another restaurant on our way to Door County. The person raved about this new place in Ellison Bay. Intrigued, my wife and I decided to try it. We were wowed by the food, ambiance and service. So much so, that we returned the following evening, again to be wowed. So this year when my family was planning a trip for my birthday and asked where we should have dinner to celebrate, I said, "Wichman House." Going to a favorite place with a group of 14 people can be a bit risky. What works for 2 can quickly breakdown in a large party; not here. Again, fantastic food, great selections and attentive, caring service. I strongly recommend that you try Wichman House when you are in Door County, Wisconsin!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful door county dining”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful night with two other couples at the Wickman House. There were several very appealing choices for dinner that it was hard to make a decision. I finally decided upon the pea ravioli. It was a very , very good decision because of its delightful taste. The others in our group raved about the shrimp tempera, white fish and perch. my husband says it was the best perch fish fry he has ever had. We all enjoyed our friendly waiter and we were still raving about our dinner to others we met the next day. All in all dinner exceeded our expectations and we will definitely return on our next annual visit to a Door a County. My only suggestion is that they add some textiles to absorb the noise as the room is a bit noisy and makes it hard to hear your dinner companions. Good job on bringing a first class restaurant back to the former T. Ashwell building.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinCubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Four of us went to Wickman House for dinner. I had made a reservation a few days before having done a bit of research looking for something a bit special for a Friday night . The staff were very pleasant and friendly, but we ordered cocktails as a pre-dinner drink at our table and the starters arrived before the cocktails so we sent them back . The starters - oysters and chowder were good , but the mains - ravioli , which was almost tasteless, and the tempura shrimp - the batter was heavy not the light batter of tempura - were poor . The room is pleasant, but very noisy when full . Overall it was a disappointing experience and di not live up to my expectations.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Argentein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickman House also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Ellison Bay, Door County
 

Been to Wickman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing