We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Evening - Hip without Attitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wickman House

Wickman House
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Ellison Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Wickman House is located in a historic lodge in Ellison Bay, Door County. Offering sandwiches from Paying tribute to the property's original owners and namesake, this historical landmark was reborn as Wickman House in 2012. The renovation and design of the property are dedicated to restoring its history with an eclectic blend of original decor from the early 1920's. Also true to the property's original purpose: the restaurant's focus is on sustainable agriculture, featuring a menu inspired by fresh, seasonal ingredients sourced from local farms and gardens. Finally, the property's enhanced space strives to be a true gathering place, much like The Ellison Bay Lodge was nearly a century ago. The proprietors, chefs, and staff at Wickman House strive to provide their guests with the ultimate dining experience through professional service and the use of only fresh, sustainable foods. All seafood is humanely harvested and sustainably considered. Nearly all ingredients not arriving from the sea come from local Wisconsin farms, artisans, and growers. All baked goods, desserts, sauces, stocks, and soups are made in house from scratch, just the way the Wickman Family would have wanted.
North Freedom, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Perfect Evening - Hip without Attitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our first visit. The decor is simple, clean, comfortable and chic. I loved the bow ties on the waiters. I felt like I was at a super cool Brooklyn restaurant. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The food was creative, local and delicious. We had the veggie burger, the artisan salad, a
Fish taco and the dessert combo. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    44
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waunakee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience in Door County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We decided to have a couple of drinks at the bar before dining. The bartenders were knowledgeable and very friendly. The drinks had a very fresh taste, probably due to their homemade ingredients. The bar area was very cozy.

The food was very good, our waitress was nice and attentive, and we enjoyed the atmosphere. I particularly liked the whitefish tartar. The deserts were very good (we sampled 3).

All in all, this was a wonderful evening and one of our favorites in Door County (we've been visiting Door County for 33 years). We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
383 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Casually Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Love Door County and now, we love a restaurant called Wickman House. Three of us came to try this fairly new restaurant and loved the ambiance, the food and the wait staff. We had such a great time talking to our wait staff and they were so patient in explaining the menu to us. Ramps and fiddleheads were specials offered and we got to try both...Very exciting. Also, the wine Negro Amaro from Italy hit the bullseye for a great medium dry red. We got to meet both Joe and Mike, which in our eyes is the coolest thing to have the owners introduce themselves. We split the fish tacos, with a sauce to die for. Salads crunchy and flavorful. Two of us had the Grilled Pork Loin...it was made to perfection and I had the Cioppino, I can't lie, a little salty, but the sheer fun of the night made up for it. Everything we ordered from salads to entrees had attention to detail and were delicious. Even the coffee. Can't wait to go back. We needed a place like this in Door County.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TennisgalGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant in Door County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Eating at Wickman House delivers a charming and delicious experience. Fabulous food, staff and room. Great burger, great chicken, ravioli, lobster roll and so much more. Also very creative beverages. We love this place and are so glad to have a wonderful restaurant up in Northern Door County.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of our favourites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were so happy to be back at the Wickman House. We were warmly great by the owners, Mike & Joe. I had my favorite cocktail , the Jack Rose. My husband chose a Sangiovese from the extensive wine list. We shared the whitefish chowder and the artisan salad. He had the house made ravioli with ramps and fiddlehead ferns. I chose the Mahimahi served over black lentils. All food was beyond delicious!!! Our server, Sarah, was attentive and so pleasant. We love this place!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank janetalthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickman House also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Ellison Bay, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Wickman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing