We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overly generous portions a Viking would appreciate”

The Viking Grill & Lounge
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Ellison Bay
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Viking Grill in Ellision Bay features affordable family favorites and our world-famous Viking Fish Boil! Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. Our buttermilk pancakes are light and fluffy, but our biggest secret is our outstanding Swedish pancakes (served all day). Try them- you won't be sorry! Another early morning favorite is our award winning homemade Corned Beef Hash. A great way to start a busy day on the Door peninsula. And whether you are looking for hearty or light The Viking Grill has something for you. Wrapped sandwiches, homesytle soups, a selection of 7 salads, and mouthwatering appetizers - perfect with a cold beer or cocktail from the bar. Dinner at The Viking means broasted chicken, Lake Perch, generously cut steaks and more. Come experience the Viking - we'll leave the grill on!
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Overly generous portions a Viking would appreciate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Viking Grill is a tradition. Been dining here for years. Always something new or something that's been around forever. Soups, salads and lots of traditional burgers and fish dishes plus quesadillas. I ordered a tomato and tuna salad and got TWO huge tomatoes and tuna salads. The bowl was a cup and the cup was a bowl, but semantics aside, it's a good place to stop on the way to or from the Clearning or north penisula.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    63
    41
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We love Fish Boils”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We love Fish Boils and we often stop at the Viking. Their Fish Boil rarely changes nor does it ever disappoint. Our biggest issue was stopping after 8pm on Friday of Labor Day weekend. They had already quit serving! Better stop before 7pm for their Fish Boil. It was worth coming back for on Saturday. A little later on weekends please! Some of us drive a long way to eat there. The man cooking (originally from Texas) was another reason we'll come back....what a great guy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very goood food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place has excellant food, we stop everytime we are in Door County. The only complaint I have is one of the waitresses and we seem to always get her does not write down the food orders as she takes them. We usually have about 6 people ordering and almost everytime our order is wrong when the food comes. This is really getting frustrating, we love the food but hate being waited on by this woman, everytime we go this place is very busy so I'm sure we are not the only ones with messed up orders.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet diner type place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was expecting more, but the food was good. Waitress was a little slow, I asked for a refill 1/2 way through my meal, got it well after I was done along with the check.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeauchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Train wreck”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

All I can say is what a freakin train wreck of an experience. The bartender is a clown. He didn't know how to make a drink (physically make) and had no idea how to open a bottle of wine or pour a normal glass. When he ovetpoured he spent time actually pouring it back INTO the bottle. The waitress unprofessionally yelled at him because "she had her own job to do" and was totally rude. Later, a glas of wine got returned and he put that back in the bottle too. The fish boil was ok, but they didn't make enough and a couple with little kids had to wait for them to quickly make more. Then flies climbed out of the cole slaw and I thought I was going to puke. I had to Toss my cherry pie because it was fly infested. Please, trust the bad reviews and avoid this place. Nightmare.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBertha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Viking Grill & Lounge also viewed

Ellison Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Ellison Bay, Door County
Ellison Bay, Door County
 

Been to The Viking Grill & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing