We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lola's on the Lake

Lola's on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
186 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have eaten here a couple of times now and fail to be impressed. The food is average and honestly, a bit over-priced. The wait staff looked like they wished they were anywhere but here. Compared to some of the other choices in town, Lola’s isn’t a top choice. I enjoy fine dining quite a bit but for being in a vacation town, they are also a bit too stuffy….

Salads are small, but good and creative. My father had the sweetbread appetizer which was not cooked well or properly. Pork chop was cooked nicely, potatoes that accompanied tasted like something out of a box. My drink was not done well by the bar, it was more seltzer than anything else.

For the price – there needs to be more of a wow factor…other dining options I would go to before this one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tinleyparktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    33
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Value not there...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

When spending the money that Lola's on the Lake cost I expect a lot, especially when the resort that Lola's is a part of has a culinary school.
Service was poor. Waitress was very nice but brought out my wife's salad it had a rotten avocado. ( she should have noticed ). We sent it back and it had another, new, rotten (black) avocado. Should not have happened. Forgot our appetizer, brought it out late and our meals then were late and cold.
Could be / should be great. It wasn't the night we were there. Other great choices in Elkhart Lake that are 5 minutes walking away that are superior.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEBOYGAN WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unforgetable Birthday meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

What excellent steak meals! This service was outstanding! Our waitress had such a sweet personality. So polite, and easy going, which made it so nice for a upper class kind of meal. The steaks were done just the way we asked for them. And the rest of the things that came with the meal were sooooo good! The asparagus was so melt in your mouth delishious, even our teenager who normally does not like it, ate every bit of it. They had some interesting non alcohol drinks, that were healthy and good. And by the way, even though the steaks were tasty alone, the sauce over the meal was just so excellent, that we all wanted to ask for more! Did not order the dessert, but I am sure it was to die for. Only thing was the appetizer did not have enough for the price. Going back again!!! Padded chairs! Fairly nice lake views.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Still thirsty!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Food was average and wait staff was young and uninformed about the selections.
The reason for the "1" star rating was all due to the TERRIBLE bar staff.
The same lady bartender has been there several years and has NOT IMPROVED.
She is rude and can't make drinks from scratch. I should know. I have owned several bars and a person with her attitude does NOT belong behind a bar.
Sorry Lola's. Our group will not be back just because of her!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McGillicuddy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch at the start of a road-trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Smiling faces and wonderful food. My wife and I share our course choices on while on vacations.
Less is more. The staff was hip and helped us navigate to the sweet-spot of the menu. We continued our journey happy and not too full for the drive ahead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lola's on the Lake also viewed

 

Been to Lola's on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing