We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Beers After a Meeting”
Review of Brown Baer

Brown Baer
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Elkhart Lake
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reedsville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Few Beers After a Meeting”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped here for a few beers after a meeting at the Osthoff Resort. I'll start by saying that I really like a typical Wisconsin bar, and this is one of them. They had a decent beer selection, including Ale Asylum's Hopalicious which is one of my favorites. We didn't try the food. It is set up as a rustic tavern with some interesting seating options. If you like a small-town Wisconsin bar then this is a good place for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I've always loved this place”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It has some bad reviews. BUT I do love this place... It has been our go to bar for the past few years when we visit. The bartenders are really down to earth and give good recomendations... they have a stage for live music, a pool table, AND they have swings hanging from the ceiling which all make for a fun evening! The food is delish, I always order the hummus plate for a snack.. but everything else is really good even the hot dog.. haha. For real, it's a great spot, I'm anxious to go back this year and try the cornbread everyone talks about!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaraJean_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No stout beer?”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had high hopes for this place since we seem to gravitate toward beer pubs. Brown Baer probably had the worst selection of beers on tap of any pub we have been to. The beers they had you could find at any of the restaurants in town. No IPA and no stout seems unheard of in a pub nowadays. As far as the food goes we had mixed feelings. The selection is extremely small and not very inventive. We ordered the wings which were good not great. We also ordered the Mac & cheese which was good and the corn bread which we found to be the best thing on the menu.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BandBCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great casual stop”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Brown Baer is an old fashioned tavern with a big bar and a pool table. The food is delicious and not fried for a refreshing change. My husband who is crazy about cornbread says it is the best he has ever eaten, always consistently great. Good soups, excellent burgers on Sheboygan style hard rolls and some other interesting choices. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaychip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbush, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best sandwhich fare in Elkhart Lake”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great choice abide in this neuvo style place. Hundreds of ornaments hanging from the ceiling, chick bartenders with tattos; what not to like? Great beer selection and a funky food menu including roasted brussel sprouts (to die for according to my wife), a great cibatta cheesburger and even cornbread. And then there is the crab-cake sandwhich. Yum.

You get some wild choices, good food in a fun atmosphere. Everyone likes this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Baer also viewed

 

Been to Brown Baer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing