We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a disappointment.”
Review of Siebkens Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elkhart Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siebkens Resort
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow, what a disappointment.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First, to be specific, my experience with Siebkens Resort refers to their hotel. I did not stay in their condo building.

The good: The location is central to Elkhart Lake and close to everything (such as there is) in the town. The front desk staff is nice and very pleasant to deal with. (They do not handle complaints very well, however.)

The bad: Because it is centrally located, the tavern in the resort attracts the town drunkards like moths to a flame. The swimming pool, which was located directly underneath our window, was supposed to be closed at 10 PM. However, at around 11:30 PM on a Saturday night, group after group of drunken frat-boy-types began to swim, shout, and do cannonballs in the pool. No one from the resort seemed to intervene. No security was ever seen on the complex at all, actually.

The housekeeping doesn't seem to be on any type of schedule. The room was cleaned at around 11 AM on Friday but the staff didn't show up until 1:30 PM on Saturday. Since we were relaxing in the room, we asked for clean towels and told the staff they could clean the room the following day. They took our towels but notified us that they had no clean towels to replace them with and would return with them "later". Two hours passed, and they arrived again to deliver the towels and asked if we wanted to room cleaned. *sigh*

We also saw the cleaning staff leave the rooms being cleaned with unlocked, unlatched doors, leaving the guest's personal belongings in full view of anyone who walked by the open door. Many times, the staff wasn't even in or near the room at the time. Thankfully, none of our belongings were stolen but apparently it would have been easy for someone to do.

The air conditioning in the hotel is controlled by a floor-level thermostat. Which means anyone on the floor can control the temperature to every room on the floor. The room we had reserved had no working air conditioning when we arrived. Several calls to the front desk to explain that it wasn't working despite following their instructions to "give the room time to cool down" were met with excuses. Only after we asked for another room did they call a serviceman to see if he could fix the air conditioning. Lo and behold, he did find it wasn't working.

The room we were finally given was relatively small but did have working air conditioning. But, we soon found that the hotel's walls are extremely thin. For example, a guest in the room next to ours coughed one night and it sounded as if he was in our bed. Coupled with the noise from the street and swimming pool, this made restful sleep nearly impossible.

The shower head is positioned at eye level for someone of average height. At least the water pressure was good.

We actually cut our stay short by a night so we could drive to another hotel so we could get a good night's sleep.

We were in town for a wedding but if, for some reason, we were to return to Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, we would definitely spend the extra money and stay in the Osthoff or Victorian Village resorts.

Room Tip: Stay in the condos not the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    5
    12
    13
See reviews for
23
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

After a 10 hour drive, we arrived to a room without air conditioning. Each room does not have it's own thermostat....each floor does and anyone on the floor can control it. The air to our room was broken so we had to move rooms at 10pm. The rooms are outdated and the showers are not designed for average to tall people in mind. I am 5'9'' and had to bend down to wash my hair. The vending machines are marked as being in the parking garage but the garages are only accessible to those who are staying in the condo so if you want something to drink later in the evening, you are out of luck. The people at the front desk have been very nice and apologized for the air conditioning situation but I don't htink I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elkhart Lake hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Do not stay here if you expect to sleep. The Stop Inn Tavern is the only bar in the resort area of town that stays open until 2:30 am. The patrons start heading there between 11:30 and Midnight. They were loud and obnoxious. When we complained the first night we were told they get a lot of complaints but there is nothing they can do. Perhaps the young person at the desk could not do anything, but the Bar is owned by Siebkins. The second night was worse. When we complained again the person we spoke to at the desk was rude and lied. She told us all the bars are open until 2:30 am. They are not. Both Victorian Village and Ostoff shut down between 11pm and 12am on the weekends. We were also told they could not believe we could even hear the noise. Hard not to, it was right outside our balcony doors. I still have the drunken chorus of Girls Just Wanna Have Fun running through my head.

We stayed in the condos because we warned about the old buildings. The room was decorated nicely but was really lacking for the price. No mirrors in the bedrooms which would have been helpful since there is only 1 bath. Only 2 dining chairs at the dinning table for a 2 Bedroom condo. The staff is mostly inexperienced and several were rude.Like others have written we had to beg for towels. 2 sets were left in a 2 BR condo booked for 4 people. No soap or facial tissue. When housekeeping finally brought us a box of tissue it was open, beat up and half empty. The never replaced It during our stay. The final straw was returning to our room on the third day only to find it wide open. The deadbolt was thrown open so that the door remained propped open. We found a dirty cleaning rag and a bottle of spic & span on the dresser in one of the Bedrooms amidst our personal items. Luckily nothing was missing. We will not stay here again. The staff is ill equipped to handle problems and do not care. This is not spring break at Daytona. For the prices charged it is not unreasonable to expect a good night sleep

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BananaWind2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Food, service and overall ambience was Excellent. We have all been attending Road America events for 30 years and never had been here. Our usual place changed menue so we tried it and were pleasently surprised and impressed at the quality of all.
We are at Road America two to four times a race season and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed here for our family vacation for 5 years now. The condo we rent is very nice, new and kept up. However, last year our air-conditioner broke (it was over 100 degrees) and no one at the desk could help us. My husband had to track down the owner and argue with her before they sent a service person out THE NEXT DAY to fix it. No recompense was offered and the room rate per night is not cheap! (The rates were more than we have paid on the ocean in Florida.) The housekeeping is average - alot of college kids who are busy visiting in the hallways and shorting the condos on towels, soap etc. The area around the pool is slowly disintegarting and the rest rooms are falling apart and are horrible, they have obviously never been remodeled since the 1950's - no stalls, doors, changing areas and no towels at the pool. Although there are pool hours posted they are not enforced and people partying at the pool at 2 am woke us all up. A dining room at the resort is only open on race weekends and the food at their tavern is only mediocre. The resort's beach area is across the street, small, down steep steps and very small. No comparison to the Ostoff Resort's beach next door. We enjoy the great little town but we will be staying at a different resort there next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0lley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
203 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at this “resort” for four years and are finally going to make the switch to the Osthoff next year after walking over there and seeing what they have to offer and the quality of service and staff. It feels like the hotel is just treading water – they built these beautiful new condos but the pool is falling apart. There are pockets of concrete that bubble and pop…last year it was all around the steps, still a problem this year and now around the hot tub. Many of the lounge chairs have broken straps (4 out of the 6 that are at the pool are broken). There is a rack for pool towels and a bucket but never any towels to be found – it became a joke all week about the towels, maybe three or four would show up all day. I grabbed one and gave it to my daughter only to find out it was actually a bath mat, not a towel. The bathroom facility for the pool is scummy and gross, in the bottom of the one building, down a hallway….there are three toilets, no doors, two showers are that are usable and falling off the walls…just gross!

The condos themselves are clean and new but housekeeping staff leaves quite a bit to be desired. We had three sets of towels when we arrived (condo with three bedrooms, 6 people), no soap, etc. The pool closes at 10pm, there are no staff on the grounds to be found in the night hours. Our room overlooked the pool and each night we were kept awake with people partying and swimming at 2am….nothing like being woken up by someone screaming “cannon-ball” at 2am. For the money, I would have liked a full nights sleep.

I was reading the “tourist” brochure in the condo and had to chuckle as it described the “resort” stating they have a pool and spa. Meaning, an outdoor pool and hot tub. It’s hard to compete with the other two resorts in town but I don’t feel like they are even trying. When you go to the Osthoff everyone is in a suit and tie, they call you mam and sir, very nice, very professional. For the price of these rooms (at both places) I would expect some professionalism. At Siebkens, all the staff are young high school/college kids on their cell phones while vacuuming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinleyparktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at Siebkens over the 4th weekend. First of all the town does it up right for the holiday. A whole weekend of activites- fireworks, picnic, parade, UW Marching Band...small town perfection. And Siebkens is in the heart of all the festivites. My room was in the Lake Cottage. Charming, quiet and a spacious room right on Elkhart Lake. Would choose the Lake Cottage again, but they have modern condos too. Dined in the Stop-Inn tavern and had the walleye. It was some of the best I have ever had! Perfectly done. I opted out of their famous chocolate cake and went to their ice cream shop instead for a root beer float made with local root beer. All in all a great experience and well worth it.

Room Tip: Room 64 Lake Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.1 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
100 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
77 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
276 reviews
6.4 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
113 reviews
14.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siebkens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siebkens Resort

Property: Siebkens Resort
Address: 284 S Lake St, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-2135
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Elkhart Lake
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siebkens is a landmark, turn-of-the-century resort purchased by Laura and Herman Siebken in 1916. Located on pristine Elkhart Lake, Siebkens is currently owned and operated by the fourth generation of the Siebken family. Guests will find relaxed surroundings, abundant with antiques, interesting people, great conversation, innovative cuisine and exciting night life. Lodging choices include deluxe and standard hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom condominiums. Amenities include, two restaurants - The Stop-Inn Tavern and The Main Dining Room. Other amenities are Sissy's Coffee and Ice Cream Shoppe, an outdoor pool and hot tub, live entertainment in the historic Stop-Inn Tavern, meeting facilities, and our private sandy beach. Golf, shopping, water sports rentals and a day spa and salon are all within steps of the property. In our authentic resort surroundings, abundant with history, you will find interesting people, great conversations, even greater stories and a warm, friendly atmosphere. We welcome you to visit us sometime soon. You'll see why so many of our friends and guests return year after year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing