We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THOROUGHLY enjoyed lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Street Cafe

Lake Street Cafe
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
RI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“THOROUGHLY enjoyed lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Atmosphere, service, & food were great. Only downside was they were cutting onions in the food prepraration area, causing our eyes to tear through lunch. The setting is all open and I guess we were simply 'downwind'. lol

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HumblePieRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    53
    14
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food. Great Site. Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We live nearby and hands down this is our favorite restaurant in the area. When friends visit from out of state or even out of the area we often bring them here to eat. Great menu which is all very affordable too. It's a fun place, very lively, with a nice crowd. We have 5 kids and they all enjoy coming here but we often go as just a couple or with another couple for a night out. The view is fun too as they are right off the main street in downtown Elkhart Lake. Service has always been great. Owners are very nice and everyone from the wait staff to the bartenders are top notch, very friendly and knowledgeable. Great beer and wine selection. Highly recommend this place for a fun, casual dinner for a family, a couple, business group, or even solo.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Funk5-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This place was amazing. The flank steak sandwich was super delicious! They have spotted cow on draft! What more does a girl need?....oh yeah....the roasted brussel sprouts and the fried cheese curds...I could go on and on....try it! bring your kids! It is family friendly!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeTravelx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Creative complex dishes, unassuming atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were really delighted by this restaurant. We tried many of the appetizers because they peaked our interest.
Foie Gras Creme brûlée (ordered because...well how could you not?)
Roasted Brussel sprouts with lemon and capers (ordered because I love Brussel sprouts done up)
Yellowfin tuna ( ordered because it is served everywhere and so often poorly done)

The tuna was fairly fresh and cooked as expected. It was done better than average for a non seafood specialty restaurant. I'd order it again. The Foie Gras was divine. An unexpectant treat! The Brussel sprouts were good on their own but turned out to be an amazing compliment to my main course, Tenderloin Shiraz. The meat was choice and perfectly prepared. however i found the the Shiraz wine sauce lacking and the sides a bit bland. The Brussel sprouts were a perfect complement though.

Overall, I found this restaurant a true and unexpected treat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saipanties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howards Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Went here because they offered gluten free foods. I was very pleased with my gluten free pizza as my girlfriend enjoyed her wheat pizza very much. We will definitely be returning here many times.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tyrion397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lake Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing