We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a family vacation”
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a family vacation”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our family enjoyed our at the Osthoff Resort. We played in the lake, swam in the pools, walked to town, and enjoyed Road America's car spectacular. The kid's club was great for our children because the staff was engaging and caring. The staff was always pleasant and the room was spacious and comfortable. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    175
    40
    24
    9
See reviews for
205
199
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The resort is beautiful! It isn't too far from Chicago. The pools are not fancy but they are heated and we were there when it was unseasonably cold. The beach is nice. I love that the town is within walking distance and the restaurants are fantastic. Great vacation, kids loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeTravelx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Beautiful resort, great room with a view of the lake. Only complaint was housekeeping didn't service the coffee maker. There was a coffee packet from the previous guest still in the machine, and they never removed the packet after I made coffee the first morning. Employees were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is my fourth time at Osthoff. I have come with my parents as a kid and came with my husband this time. Cozy and upscale resort with plenty of places to relax, whether you like the pool, lake, or indoors. Small town that allows you to get away from the hustle and bustle. I will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meagan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent 4 days at the Osthoff the week of July 4. This is a very nice facility with outstanding customer service. The Elk Room is simply awesome, with plenty of overstuffed sofas and chairs overlooking Elkhart Lake. My favorite ritual of the trip was having an evening cocktail there before heading to dinner.

This is a very kid and family-friendly destination. Elkhart Lake itself doesn't have much to offer, but the resort offers plenty. Also, it is a short walk from town and the handful of shops and restaurants that are there.

Note: the nearest grocery store to Elkhart Lake is in either Kiel or Plymouth, both of which are about six miles away. If you plan on bringing food to your room, you will want to stock up before you leave or stop on the way. There is a gas station in Elkhart Lake with some sundries, but nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhiattlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latraveller2009
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We've been wanting to pick a place near Milwaukee to get away with the family. Everyone was amazed by the hotel and all the amenities. The restaurants and bars are enjoyable and there are a lot of activities for kids. One recommendation would be to offer organic food and more farm to table options given the proximity to all the farms.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank latraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

One word – wow. Just wow. We were so impressed with out stay at the Osthoff. We had stayed at another resort in town which for five years prior and switched this year and are thankful and SUPER GLAD that we did. The Osthoff is top notch – I would love to be a fly on the wall for their customer service training. All of the staff are first class. No request was denied or questioned, everything could be accommodated with a smile. Every staff member who you passed greeted you and spoke to you about your stay. The staff never would ride on the elevators with guests, etc. Just really a lot of thought has gone into how guests are treated. The resort is immaculate from top to bottom, the pools are great, the beach is as well. In the mornings when I went to the gym there were people everywhere cleaning the carpets, the windows, the pool, etc. There are always enough towels to be had, servers to be found, fun to be had. We did the summer pleasures events (kids programs) with our seven year old who did a baking class, a memory stone making class and a fishing class. She had a great time and they were awesome – I would recommend the kids program for anyone with little ones. Onsite restaurants are very good, Just Otto’s is excellent for lunch or poolside dining. The resort really seems to cater to families but it is very quite and extremely well kept up. Our suite had just been remodeled and was excellent. Again, it’s beautiful and immaculate. When we checked out today there was actually one of the doormen polishing a brass post. I would recommend this to anyone. The place is large enough that even if it is busy it doesn’t feel like it. The atmosphere is nice, not too stuffy, and family friendly without being rundown or noisy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinleyparktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
100 reviews
12.9 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
280 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Ave, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing