We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Getaway!”
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Getaway!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here based on a recommendation from a friend and couldn't have been happier! We are a family of four with two very energetic boys aged 2 & 8. We all had a terrific stay at the Osthoff. We stayed in a two-bedroom lakeview suite from a Sunday through a Wednesday (three nights). The property was gorgeous and our room was spectacular. We took advantage of Otto's Restaurant, the Lake Deck restaurant, the beach, indoor and outdoor pools, the arcade, the Elk Room, and room service. Everything met our expectations and beyond. There was plenty to do and we never felt bored or lacking in options of what to do. The food was wonderful as well. The kitchen in our room was stocked with dishes, silverware, pots/pans, dishwasher so we were able to give our kids snacks and meals whenever they wanted. I also wanted to say that the room felt very private and soundproof. There were tons of families with young children like ours and we never seemed to hear any sounds once we closed the door. I would love to make the Osthoff a family tradition!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopperc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    175
    40
    24
    9
See reviews for
205
199
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Countryside, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Gorgeous landscaping and beautiful grounds with a reflecting pond. A nice place to get away
with family and friends. There is plenty of things to do with family or friends. You can enjoy swimming , walking, hydro biking, bicycling(you can rent one), jogging, conoeing, kayaking, spa or,stroll around the little town...... We stayed at 3 bedroom lakeview suite on top floor. It had a sacious balcony with a nice table and chairs. From the balcony we were able to enjoy the beautiful lakeview and garden. It was fantastic and relaxing! The master bedroom had a whirpool bath. It also had a well equipped kitchen, dining room and living room with a fire place. The staff were friendly. The resort also has restaurants. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: If possible lakeview suites on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aligela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were looking for a special place to take my mom for her 75th birthday. We are so glad we found Osthoff! The resort grounds are just beautiful. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. We reserved a two-bedroom lakeview suite -- lovely! Suite was spacious and kitchen well-equipped. My mom said her Sacred Waters spa treatment at Aspira was the best she ever had! The weather was decidedly mixed during our stay, so we definitely took advantage of the indoor pool. During periods on sun, we loved being in Elkhart Lake. It is gorgeous, with crystal clear water, sandy beach, and plenty of fish tickling your toes. The food in and out of the resort was delicious. We enjoyed at Lake Street Cafe and Vintage Wine Shop twice during our stay! We had a wonderful time and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cestlasylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

i have had the privilege of staying at the Osthoff resort 3 times now. The newer building is by far my favorite. The rooms are comfortable and feel like home. The food at Otto's and Lola's is great. A short walk away is the most adorable ice cream shop and several cafes. The beach and lake activities are very entertaining. The indoor and outdoor pools are very nice. The spa is wonderful - i had the best facial i have ever experienced during my stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the newer side - the rooms will spoil you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Osthoff several times & always love it!
Great relaxing stay, fun for couples or families, you won't regret it! :) Can't wait till next time!
Love the pools, beautiful scenery, good food & great service!
Thankyou Osthoff!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Earth
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is my second visit for a conference. It is pleasant and the food is excellent. The amenities could have some attention to make it really great.
Improve the signage for incoming drivers. The very small note to look for drive 3 is not seen when you first spot the complex looming. The lobby is actually difficult to zone in to.
Of course you know that navigation is difficult, but the kids at the front desk whip through the map as if it is old hat. Consider a better script for them.
There were only 6 hangers in the room for 2 of us.
Add a shelf or something in the bathroom. The itty bitty sink counter doesn't cut it.
I won't complain about the doors opening into each other and room layouts as that is too difficult to fix, but it is weird.
Now...the important part is that all the staff are wonderfully friendly. The food is out of this world. Even the banquet food. The grounds are delightful. It is a nice destination and I look forward to each trip. I'm just trying to help with some details. Oh, and eat at Lola's. You can get pork belly as an appetizer. Yum.... And the bartenders are sweet. Vey quiet sleeping.

Room Tip: The rooms with the single queen are funky in their layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I attended a conference at the Osthoff Resort, but as it was over Father's Day I invited my husband to join me a day ahead of time. We found the room to be lovely and well adorned. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linens and pillows. The room was ready upon check-in and clean upon arrival. However, I was dissatisfied with the cleaning staff. I used the large luxurious bath the first day but the staff did not clean it and the residual soap scum made the bath much less inviting the following day. Also, the Toilet paper was low and not replaced by the cleaning staff so it ran out and we needed to call for more.

The conference accommodations were fine. Nice rooms, good temperature control, breakfast featured Door County Cherry Almond coffee cake which was a nice touch on top of the typical bagel continental breakfast. Layout of the breakout rooms was easy to find and well arranged.

However, we were disappointed in the leisure services and accommodations and lack of knowledgable staff concierge. My husband is a huge soccer fan. I called asking for a concierge so that he could guide us to a restaurant that would have the World Cup Game on. we were told that they did not have a concierge but the front desk staff could help. The front desk staff directed us to a restaurant a few blocks away. We quickly headed there the minute halftime began. When we arrived the restaurant was closed on Sundays! By the time we got back to the resort he had missed 10 minutes of the game. He was very upset! Also disappointing is the size of the beach front (tiny) and the size of the pools. Although there are three pools (one indoor and two outdoor) none are very large. One of the outdoor pools was closed for repair or cleaning or something. Our largest disappointment was the cost of the waterspout rentals. It cost $25 an hour for a canoe or kayak. For us, the most exciting thing about the Osthoff is that it is on Elkheart lake. We were very excited to go out and explore the lake. Also, the hours were only open until 6:00 pm. It had rained in the morning and my conference ended at 5:00. So I was anticipating getting out on the lake in the beautifully sunny evening, after all, the sun doesn't set until around 9:00. I was told that it closes at 6:00 pm. When I explained how disappointed I was I was basically told too bad, nothing they could do even though all the boats are right at the waters edge. Frustrating!

The fine dining restaurant had limited menu selections and was overpriced. Ottos has a nice selection of items and is reasonably priced. Only drawback is that they were out of avocados and three or four of the menu items featured avocados (and I happen to love them). I would suggest bypassing eating at the resort and take the short walk to the Lake Street cafe. Food was out of this world and the prices were incredibly reasonable for the quality in an unassuming atmosphere.

Overall, the resort is lovely but we were disappointed in the activities and amenities that would make it fun for a family.


Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Saipanties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
100 reviews
12.9 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
280 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Ave, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing