We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"dooby dooby doo doo doo ahh"”
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“"dooby dooby doo doo doo ahh"”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here at Osthoff Resort. I missed the opportunity to go sailing because it is a seasonal event. I try to keep the time frame in mind when I come to visit again. Wow!, a lot of history here with this Resort. Splendid!!! and Thoroughly Righteous...I left The Osthoff feeling as though, I can break out in a Song.. "dooby dooby doo doo doo ahh" LORD MARCUS!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORDMARCUS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    175
    40
    24
    9
See reviews for
204
198
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I went with my boyfriend for a weekend stay in August. We had been to Kohler before so wanted to try something new. The resort was very far from relaxing! There were kids everywhere. They were running up and down the halls so we couldn't even relax while in the room. We woke up early Saturday morning to hit up the beach and every chair was taken. So, then we went to the pool and it was full of screaming kids. We even tried the beach bar thinking that would be safe but ended up waiting forever for a drink because there was a line of kids ordering virgin frozen drinks. I think this would be a great resort for families but was not a romantic quiet getaway.
For the price the rooms were disappointing. Next time we will fork out the little extra money and go to Kohler.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank katiec79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenRule3, General Manager at The Osthoff Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear KatieC79,

We are so sorry that your visit with your boyfriend was not what you had hoped for. We take your comments to heart and will use them constructively to improve both our communications and our level of service to our guests. August is the height of the summer holdiay season in Wisconsin, to be sure, with families enjoying time together before the start of the school year. Yet, we are truly a couples' destination, as well. Should you decide to return--and we hope you will--let us know what you are looking for in your stay and we will be sure to point you in the right direction. I can assure you that fall and winter are particulaarly wonderful seasons for couples' getaways at our resort. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again for an enjoyable, relaxing weekend with your boyfriend.

Sincerely,
Lola Roeh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We guest at a wedding performed outside in the gazebo near the lake. Enjoyed a delicious buffet dinner afterwards in one of the banquet rooms. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Although we did not have a room there, those that did said that it was nicely appointed and each room had a good view of the spacious green lawn and the blooming bushes and flowers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refugee1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This resort if perfect for celebrations such as weddings. I had a great time and the experience will be one I remember for a lifetime. Even though it rained the day before, the grounds were well kept and all water was removed from walkways before the ceremony. I would suggest this resort for anything, and if I ever head up that way on vacation, I would book another suit there.

Room Tip: Well, I was alone but the room was big enough for 3 or 4 people. My sister got a big suit and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My friends and I try to get together once a year, and picked the Osthoff for this year's getaway. We were only in the hotel for 10 minutes before we decided that we'll make our stay there an annual tradition. We had a 2-bedroom suite that boasted two bathrooms, a kitchenette, seating area w/fire place and a small balcony. It was the perfect space for us to hang out and relax. We got the last nice weekend in September, and even slipped into our swim suits to sit by the lake and hang out in the indoor hot tub. We definitely want to return to take advantage of the gorgeous lakefront beach. The staff was genuinely nice, with the exception of one front desk guy who was less than helpful and kind of snotty when we asked about where we could eat off-site. It's about an hour drive from Milwaukee - and felt like a true escape for a great weekend with friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a wonderful time celebrating our First Wedding Anniversary at the Osthoff! Elkhart Lake is a great location for foodies - we had amazing meals both at Osthoff and in town! Our room was very nice for the price, and the grounds are truly breathtaking. The resort is massive so there are plenty of areas to sit, talk, relax, etc. And, I loved the fact that we could walk everywhere in town! There was no need to drive from the moment we checked in until the morning we departed, which was nice since we drove in from Chicago. Although, it only took a little over 2 hours to get there. We will definitely visit again... maybe in the summer to try out the beaches and water sports! This was a romantic getaway, but I can also see the potential of bringing the family here.

Room Tip: We stayed in 304B. Had a great view of the courtyard and could see the lake from our balcony. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Every good thing you have seen written about this resort is true. I am so sorry I never stayed here before, but that will not be the case going forward. Perfect for a relaxing getaway, upscale yet unpretentious, and the suites ROCK! We had a Woodland Deluxe, and while it was at the back of the hotel, it was still perfect. Whirlpool tub, king size bed, huge balcony, quiet! This is worth it for a bit of a splurge for Wisconsinites, and a steal for our southern neighbors. BTW, the staff was excellent!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandma1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
100 reviews
12.9 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
279 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Ave, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing