We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a wonderful time celebrating our First Wedding Anniversary at the Osthoff! Elkhart Lake is a great location for foodies - we had amazing meals both at Osthoff and in town! Our room was very nice for the price, and the grounds are truly breathtaking. The resort is massive so there are plenty of areas to sit, talk, relax, etc. And, I loved the fact that we could walk everywhere in town! There was no need to drive from the moment we checked in until the morning we departed, which was nice since we drove in from Chicago. Although, it only took a little over 2 hours to get there. We will definitely visit again... maybe in the summer to try out the beaches and water sports! This was a romantic getaway, but I can also see the potential of bringing the family here.

Room Tip: We stayed in 304B. Had a great view of the courtyard and could see the lake from our balcony. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    163
    37
    23
    7
See reviews for
188
193
13
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Every good thing you have seen written about this resort is true. I am so sorry I never stayed here before, but that will not be the case going forward. Perfect for a relaxing getaway, upscale yet unpretentious, and the suites ROCK! We had a Woodland Deluxe, and while it was at the back of the hotel, it was still perfect. Whirlpool tub, king size bed, huge balcony, quiet! This is worth it for a bit of a splurge for Wisconsinites, and a steal for our southern neighbors. BTW, the staff was excellent!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandma1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I am often looking for places to meet business associates at a middle ground distance wise, between Milwaukee, Chicago and my location near Green Bay WI. I called the Osthoff and spoke to one of the Directors of the facility and was welcomed with open arms even though we were looking for a place for a business meeting only for a day. If you have to be working this is a great place to relax and get work done at the same time. I have been back several times as the restaurants are 5 star and the environment extremely enjoyable and relaxing. If you have to be working this is the way to do it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This resort has something for everyone for any occasion. You can be as busy or lazy as you like. We stayed in a two bedroom/two bath unit. Spacious and clean! The trip before, we stayed in a one bedroom/one bath unit. Big! Nicely equipped kitchen, too. The grounds are huge and beautifully landscaped. Try the spa, too. The on site restaurants are a great convenience. The resort is also a very short walking distance to two other eating establishments that also offer a good selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olayla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Brook, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a great place to visit. The rooms were comfy. They had fans in each guest room. They were mostly suites. We stayed in a 2 bed room with a hide a bed. The kitchen was great to. They had 2 great restaurants. The food was excellent. Very friendly service. The view was amazing it was over looking the lake so i would really recommend it. 2 pools out doors and one indoor pool. The food by the beach was great to. The water sports were great from a paddle boat to kayaks to water bikes to paddle boarding. I would highly recommend this to a couple for a romantic get away. This was great for my whole family. There were 4 weddings last night so obviously a great place. Sir Lancelot was the great golf course i played near there so bring the clubs. The breakfast buffet was great to. I am hoping to go back soon.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A girls weekend away in celebration of our baby sister's 50th birthday. We got a three bedroom condo, which was very comfortable for all of us, though our mother, in her 80s, had a bit of trouble getting into her bed due to the height. Very clean, spacious condo. Plenty of room in the living area and kitchen. Nice big dining table for meals and games. Wonderful views from our balcony, which overlooked Elkhart Lake, the pond and gardens, and swimming pool. Very helpful staff. All the sisters (7 of us) had a fabulous time learning how to make French pastries. Thanks to our instructor, Scott, and assistants Norrine and Betty. Had a great hike around the Lake. Rejuvenating massages at the Aspira Spa, though one of us showed up for a massage that was booked two weeks prior, but the computer lost her reservation, so she had to reschedule for the next day. They made up for it by giving her a discount, and offering the use of the spa facilities to the family for the full day. Enjoyed Lola's and Otto's restaurants in the hotel. Best meal offsite was at The Paddock Club, which is only a couple blocks walk away.

Room Tip: Some prior reviews said the old wing of the hotel was not up to snuff, but we were very happy with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Staying at the Osthoff was like staying in a plush hotel on a tropical island. There in an indoor pool, two outdoor pools, and a beautiful beach. The grounds are landscaped beautifully and the flowers are vibrant. I was totally in awe of the color of the water - aqua blue and it almost looked fake. It was calming and relaxing. Our two bedroom suite was very nice. The room was tastefully decorated and the kitchen was equipped with everything that we needed. The shower could have used a safety bar because it was quite slippery and there was nothing to hold on to. We ate at Otto's for dinner and breakfast and both meals were excellent. The servers were very attentive. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00noodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#2 of 5 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
16.2 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Avenue, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-0151
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing