We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“personal attention and beauty surrounds you here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Anthem, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“personal attention and beauty surrounds you here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This resort was hopping with guests (especially children this week) yet I felt like I was personally attended to with great friendliness and consideration, the training of this staff is impeccable. The resort and surrounding area is beautiful with great restaurants in such a small village, truly a serene location to spend a lovely get-away from the hustle and bustle of work.

Room Tip: The three bedroom suite was great for our large family and we choose room 436, nice balcony and grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    156
    35
    22
    7
See reviews for
183
183
12
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here for a track event at Road of America. The bellmen were so helpful throughout our stay. The bartenders were friendly. We had a suite in the main section of the resort. The bedroom was pretty small and could only accommodate a queen size bed...a bit small for a couple used to king beds. The air conditioner is at the front end of the living area so there is no direct air flow into the bedroom. With temperatures well into the 90's it would have been nice to have a better designed air conditioning system. We had a wonderful meal at Lola's. I highly recommend this property especially for families with children.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JM600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had absolutely no complaints. Staff went above and beyond to help us and were very friendly. The resort is very clean and up-to-date. They do a lot of extras like place a newspaper by your door each morning. Very cozy lodge, great pools, and nice beach. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meagan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean, big rooms, full kitchen, larger living space, resort has it all.
Service was fantastic.
Pool, beach, boating, outdoor bar all within a 3-5 minute walk. We did not use our car once while we stayed, restaurants off property ar a short walk away.
We will return!

Room Tip: The large corner premium 2 bedroom is worth the xtra $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

very clean, accommodating and great service! Used the pleasures program for kids and enjoyed some adult time. The lake provided lots to do for kids and a relaxing place to have some beverages. Food was okay, kids loved the activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Osthoff Resort is a relaxing place to stay. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is very helpful and friendly. We went during the week in June -- which was a quieter time. (If you're looking for a party and live entertainment at night, the weekends might be a better choice.) The beach on the lake is really nice and the Aspira Spa is fantastic. The rooms are nice, and well equipped. My only complaint would be the prices on the water gear rentals. I thought they could be a little less expensive during the weekdays. All in all, I would recommend the Osthoff, and plan to go back next year.

Room Tip: Good coffee pots in the rooms -- but bring your own coffee and filters if you really like coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the resort for two nights this past weekend. I am pregnant and we did not want to fly to Florida this summer, so we thought we would try out this resort. After reading fantastic reviews, I had very high expectations.
I will start with the positive experiences: The resort is large and the location on the lake is great. The grounds are nice too. Although the weather wasn't that great, we really enjoyed the outdoor pools. When it rained we even used the indoor pool. The private hotel beach is nice. You can also rent kayaks and boats at a very reasonable price. We mainly ate at the Otto's Restaurant and the Lake Deck. Food was good. They had live music at the Lake Deck on Friday and Saturday, which was fun. The staff was very accommodating. They responded very quickly whenever we had any issues (other than servers in the restaurant). The room was a good size with a relatively large bathroom. I liked that there was a bath tub as well as a shower. The room also had a balcony.
There were some things that I did not expect during our stay. Specifically, the balcony was full of cobwebs and the bed was quite uncomfortable. We also received very poor service at Otto's during the Sunday's buffet breakfast, which was very disappointing.
Lastly, I was really surprised that they did not have any type of dining / drinks service by the pool. The website has a pool side menu, but this service obviously does not exist.
In summary, our stay was good. We enjoyed our weekend. However, compared to other 4 and 5 star properties that I have stayed in, I would not rate this at the top of my list. It is likely that we will come back, but it will be mainly for the convenience, since this property is so close to Chicago. I think if they improve some services, this can be a true gem in this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maja35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#2 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
16.0 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Ave, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing