We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Upscale Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Marinette, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Upscale Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Osthoff Resort 4-5 times during some of the races at Road America. I have always been impressed with the friendly service and luxurious rooms. It is a bit pricey, but the suites have always been a good value as we have had one or two other couples, as well as several children and we had plenty of room. This last time in May, we were a little disappointed. We had a unit with very small bedrooms....room to move around the bed, only. Also, there was not a bright light in any bedroom.......could barely see in the drawers or night stands. We aren't going to judge by this last visit....We do suggest that people planning on staying there know what they are getting for the week/weekend. A great experience at a beautiful place.

Room Tip: The three bedroom lofts are very small and dark. Loved the three bedroom deluxe suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    156
    35
    22
    7
See reviews for
183
183
12
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A beautiful resort with an excellent SPA. I spent 2 weeks in 2012 at this resort and I can't wait to go back. Every room is a 1 or 2 bedroom apartment. It is very relaxing and Elkhart Lake is a quaint town. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I googled a spa resort in Wisconsin because years ago someone mentioned going on an annual trip with girlfriends. The Aspira Spa, located within the Osthoff Resort on Elkhart Lake came up. After looking at the pictures and accomodations, I booked a 3-bedroom, 2-bath suite. OMG, we have now committed to an annual retreat there. There was NOTHING to complain about. This is the first property I've stayed at that looks even better in person than the pictures. The grounds were immaculate, our room overlooked the property with the pond/waterfall/lake all a direct shot from our outdoor balcony. We took yoga lessons, which the instructor tailored for the 3 of us. We booked massages which entitled us to use the spa facilities for the entire day. We ate lunch in our robes/slippers, catered by the upscale restaurant, Lola's; hung out in both the indoor and outdoor whirlpools; a sauna was available; and took showers in the most awesome bath facilities ever. There were 2 large 7-head waterfall showers, full amenities such as hair get, hair spray, deodorant, blow dryers, razors, toothbrushes/toothpaste, etc. All we needed was our own clothes. Staff was the friendliest I've ever encountered. We hung out at the Elk Room Bar and ate both nights, great fun, service and food, provided by Otter's Restaurant. Can't say enough good about this resort. Look for the great seasonal packages/specials. I'm even planning a fall trip with another girlfriend.

Room Tip: We were assigned to a 4th floor room (top floor), in the main building, right in the middle. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was only at this resort for one night - but it was a pleasant stay. The resort was well kept and had a beautiful view. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurants at the facility were good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank apple422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This third trip back to the Osthoff Resort was as great as the first and second. The interior has perfect old-world charm. You feel like you're in another time. Dark woods and plush carpet throughout the public areas are all well-maintained. You just feel like you want to settle in for several days and enjoy the quiet.

The suite I stayed in was called a "One Bedroom Woodland Deluxe"-- it was roomy, clean, with a living room, dining area, kitchen, separate large bedroom, marble bathroom and balcony. The view of the Siebken Resort next door was fine. In the past, I've stayed in rooms that have had nicer views (of Elkhart Lake) but it felt like this room was newer or more recently renovated. Honestly, no complaints about the view.

The staff was extremely accommodating, as always.

Lunch and dinner at Otto's Restaurant (on premises) were good and the prices were very reasonable. The waiter was busy with several tables and apologized for slower than usual service. Wasn't a problem to me-- if you're there to relax, it's nice not to feel rushed.

Nice gift shop too.

Absolutely love this place. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinlite_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Where else in the Midwest can you listening to great music, eat great food, and taste over 250 wines??? No where but Jazz on the Vine at the Osthoff Resort!
Everything was great, and I do mean everything!!! Lola's had good food, music, and dancing. The Mother's Day Brunch is well known and frequented!!! A great weekend. The view and grounds are awesome and speaks truly to God's magnificence!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzyShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Everyone we had contact with were exceptionally polite, courteous, well knowledgeable and professional.
The food at the restruarants was also exceptionally great. Our suite was very roomy, clean and well layed out and comfortable. The Resort was very well kept, clean and interesting with all rooms and pictures. Has a wonderful layout of amenities. A great place to buy one of the Condo Suites to live.

Room Tip: A wonderful suite would be anyone of them with a balcony/patio. All are layed out in a Great configu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAYNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#2 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
16.0 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Ave, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing