We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Jazz on the Vine at the Osthoff Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Jazz on the Vine at the Osthoff Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Where else in the Midwest can you listening to great music, eat great food, and taste over 250 wines??? No where but Jazz on the Vine at the Osthoff Resort!
Everything was great, and I do mean everything!!! Lola's had good food, music, and dancing. The Mother's Day Brunch is well known and frequented!!! A great weekend. The view and grounds are awesome and speaks truly to God's magnificence!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzyShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    152
    32
    21
    7
See reviews for
178
176
12
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Everyone we had contact with were exceptionally polite, courteous, well knowledgeable and professional.
The food at the restruarants was also exceptionally great. Our suite was very roomy, clean and well layed out and comfortable. The Resort was very well kept, clean and interesting with all rooms and pictures. Has a wonderful layout of amenities. A great place to buy one of the Condo Suites to live.

Room Tip: A wonderful suite would be anyone of them with a balcony/patio. All are layed out in a Great configu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAYNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Although tit was off season at this resort, we had a fabulous time. The room was comfortable and the view was amazing. We loved overlooking the lake and the pond each evening, as we enjoyed our wine.

Otto's was a lovely experience with delicious dinners and great drinks. We tried to dine there at least four times during our week and it was never disappointing.

We hope to visit during the summer season to use all of the activities on the lake!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GACRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked the Osthoff Courtyard Deluxe Suite with the Bed and Breakfast package on Monday through Wednesday in late April.

We called the day before to verify our reservations, since they don't send an email confirmation when you book online. The front desk was very polite and helpful. We found out our room wasn't occupied, so we would be able to check in at anytime during the day. Brittanie and Abby were great answering all of our questions and making the whole check-in/out process efficient and seamless. Extremely friendly and helpful, letting us know that our $40 dining credit was already applied to the bill. However, we didn't notice that there was a bell service attendant until we left. Although, he did seem very nice.

The room was beautiful and amazingly well-kept. The balcony had a wonderful view, the televisions had great picture quality, the wifi was fast, and the whirlpool was the cherry on top. There was no DVD player, but that was fine as we had all the channels we needed. They had eating utensils/plates, pots/pans - basically everything you'll need to feel as at home as possible. Also, the bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. I think it would be pretty cool to have robes in the room. Not necessary by any means, but it would be a nice touch. The grounds are well maintained, and it is beautiful at any time/day.

Room service was great. Our breakfast order was brought to us very prompt, and the ladies bringing the food were super friendly. Everything was delicious and surpassed our expectations. Housekeeping did a wonderful job too for such a big room. They really need a "Do Not Disturb" door handle sign for the rooms though, we didn't see any.

We didn't try the spa services this trip because it was a bit pricey, but if we come back this will likely be on our to-do list. Tennis court was nice, located right by the parking lots, so we didn't have to bring our racquets/balls to our room. L'ecole de la Maison didn't have any cooking classes going on during our stay, but we were aware of their schedule - this would definitely be something we would do as well. Arcade room was plentiful and had all the essentials available. Indoor pool/sauna was nice, hopefully they can open the outdoor pools as it has been warm out lately.

We were a little disheartened to find out that the lake was pretty much closed until Memorial Day. This was the main reason why we came - we are all about canoes. We asked if there was any kind of boating opportunities elsewhere, but we were told that there was nothing around that was available this time of year. Also, basketball/volleyball was nowhere to be seen on the grounds. We were told that we would have to go to a nearby school after school finished to be able to play. A little misleading when you look at the website.

We were really struggling to find something to do on Monday night. Since Lola's and many of the bars around us were closed on Mondays, we just headed to Sheboygan to explore the city and then took a trip to Milwaukee the following night.

Aside from the spa, tennis, and swimming in the indoor pool, the resort is lacking in activities. If you're going here for the spa/relaxation and quiet days, this is the spot for you. But if you're looking for lots of options your best bet would be to come here Memorial Day to Labor Day - that's when everything is available for you.

Overall, definitely a relaxing/rejuvenating experience with impeccable rooms, immaculate grounds, and pleasant staff. However, we were hoping to be able to do more at the resort during the 'off-season'. If we come again, it will be between Memorial and Labor Day. Staff did an excellent job though, and it was a positive experience.

Room Tip: Get a suite that faces the grounds, and book your trip between Memorial Day and Labor Day. Also, try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getmeadanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Osthoff Resort is a wonderful place for a convention or meeting destination. Their friendly staff will coordinate a successful event. On the down time, there is much to enjoy at the Osthoff. Great dining options, spa, walking path, fitness room, and much more. Downtown Elkhart Lake is walkable and enjoyable. Highly recommend a stay at the beautiful Osthoff Resort.

Room Tip: If coming in with group, ask for room block. Ask for Hospitality rooms - will accommodate. Have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As always The Osthoff does not disappointment. Facility is clean, staff is friendly and visible throughout the resort. Suites are well equiped, offering plenty of room for an extended family visit. Pool/hot tub area well maintained and water temperature was very comfortable. Check-in/check-out very efficient with plenty of staff available to make the process efficient. We highly recommend this facility and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was there for a 1 night stay with some girl friends, and we had a wonderful time. Everything was just perfect. Our rooms were ready when we arrived, much earlier then the 4pm check in time. The spa was wonderful, everyone enjoyed their services. The rooms were clean and a really good size for our group. We ad dinner at Otto's and the food was really good, and very reasonable with the $20 a room dining credit we got with the package we booked. I would love to visit in the summer time to be able to use the beach, pools, and bike rental.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_HKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#2 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
6.4 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
15.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Ave, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing