We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway for those nearby”
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great getaway for those nearby”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I really enjoy visiting here. I've been two times in the past few years. I have to wait for deals as it is a bit pricy, but a great and relaxing getaway near enough to where I live with an upscale feel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallaghermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    176
    42
    25
    10
See reviews for
212
200
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at the Osthoff Resort in early January for a couples retreat. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was comfortable and well appointed. It being the middle of winter in Wisconsin, there was not a lot in the way of activities, outside of the spa, which was ok, as we were looking for a relaxing weekend after the holidays (though there is a cooking school on the property that we would have been interested in if it was open). The common areas were all very clean and orderly. The one knock I would have against this resort is that Otto's, the casual restaurant, was not very impressive. This is the main option (outside of the more formal Lola's) available on property and it is more like a small banquet room that has been turned into an eating area. The food was ok (mostly pub-type fare and breakfast/brunch) but the atmosphere is seriously lacking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cclancy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our third year staying at the Osthoff for our annual chick trip and we will be back again next year. The spa is OUTSTANDING. We generally never leave the hotel from arrival on Friday to departure on Sunday.

This year we did have some trouble with the reservation but our concerns were promptly and courteously addressed and all 7 of us were completely satisfied with the outcome.

I would highly recommend the Osthoff for your chick trip. Total relaxation!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A wedding here on New Years Eve a perfect match.
The sunsets over the water gorgeous.
Accomodations well done & such beautiful history here.
Next trip up would be to enjoy that gorgeous spa!
Thank You!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

BEAUTIFUL resort. I had heard of the Osthoff in the past but never had the opportunity to stay here; this was my first time. We travel a few times a year and I usually upgrade my room styles to be comfortable. The room and the resorts conditions through out the building were probably the best I've ever experienced. The room size was PERFECT. I felt like I was on vacation... which is important to me when I'm on vacation. I didn't feel crammed into a small room. I could spread out and relax. I forgot a cork opener and to my suprise... found one stocked in the room. I have to admit... I watched the Packer game while here. shh... don't tell anyone. but... the TV was a beautiful display and the furniture in the room was comfortable. My wife loved the tub. We left the next day knowing we made the right decision. We ate at Lola's and we thought the food was well prepared and presented nicely. The ease of getting the $20 discount on the meal due to the bed and breakfast package we chose was nice. We didn't have to remind them at the front desk... they had already applied the discount when we went to check out. VERY SIMPLE. Good Job... Our stay was short, one night only... but we're going to come back.

Room Tip: the one bedroom suite was BEAUTIFUL..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been coming up to the Osthoff for the last few years during the winter. This year we stayed two days and choose the modest upgrade on the room. The room was outstanding with a lake view, king size bed, large upgraded bathroom with marble tub and shower. The deal from Travel Zoo included $20 each day for food or drinks. We choose the breakfast at Otto's each day. I loved the hot tub after cross country skiing and using the library for reading at night. We also enjoyed having true HD TV so I could watch the Alabama-Notre Dame game. We will return.

Room Tip: Lake side may cost a little more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our third visit to the Osthoff and we will definitely be back. We especially love Lola's restaurant. We have looked forward to eating there every time. The food is delicious and this has become one of our favorite restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.2 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
103 reviews
12.9 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
288 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.3 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
116 reviews
16.2 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Property: The Osthoff Resort
Address: 101 Osthoff Ave, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing