We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually a Condo”
Review of The Osthoff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Osthoff Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Three friends and I stayed two nights at the Osthoff while attending a weekend Ladies's (church) Retreat. Our suite was actually a condo, with a welcoming message from The Owners. It had 2 bedrooms and two baths, a full kitchen, 3 TVs, dinette, living area, and patio. The lake side resort and grounds are beautiful. We all agreed that this is the best type of accommodation and loved th extra space and flexibility. The hotel includes outdoor and indoor pools, whirlpools, and 2 fine restaurants. The conference rooms are comfortable and views spectacular. The community has several fun shops and the area has several interesting activities.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank McTWaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 691 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom, 2-1/2 bath lakeside condo on the 4th floor. It was a beautiful room and the view of the lake was outstanding. There were six of us and we had plenty of room with the exception of the second full bath which was to be shared by two of the bedrooms in the upper part of the unit. We had several calls to the front desk - to ask for extra towels, fix the garbage disposal and unclog a toilet. Their response time was excellent and all requests were handled quickly. Kitchen items were a little older but functional. We were surpised that no DVD players were provided, although there were several flat screen tvs throughout the unit. Check in and out went smoothly. We did not eat at the restaurant as our meals were included with our conference - mostly buffet which were typical. We liked the cozy sitting spots throughout the resort. Although we checked out the spa, none of us used it. Prices seemed quite high but maybe in line with other resorts of this type. Service was A+.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Osthoff resort & spa in Elkhart Lake Wisconsin, is centrally located in the state. It is within 2 1/2 hours of Chicago. The setting is breathtaking! . Easpecially in Spring when everything is in bloom. I just came back from a "Girls Weekend," which has become a tradition among my 3 friends and I. (this is our 4th year!) There is plenty to see and do nearby. We like to drive into the town of Kohler, and shop at the small strip mall across from the Kohler Kitchen & Bath showroom. The shops there are very upscale yet quaint. The Grocery Market there is a gem! Organic produce, great wine selection, and we always fine some wonderful food item there. At the Kohler Showroom you can browse the many display areas for Kitchen's and baths as well as go down to the lower level to gleen the Kohler History. I usually do yoga at the spa at 9am with Hari Om-who is a master teacher, and we occaisonally go to the whirlppol area, or just veg in our 2 bedroom suite and catch up, drinking wine, and eating one of the meals we each bring for the weekend. Since we have a kitchen here, we only go out for one evening dinner (usually at Lake Street Cafe 1 block away) and possibly a send off breakfast or lunch on Sunday before departing. On the way home (to the Chicago area) my friend and I stop off at Glorioso's Italian Market in Milwaukee, which is a grocery/ deli/carry out/dine in place on Brady Street. Another GEM not to be missed. The Osthoff in Spring is NOT TO BE MISSED!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolecare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited the Osthoff in March '12. We spend 5 days there and for the most part had a great experience. We tried to get there before dark, as it is off the beaten path and the signage was virtually non-existent. Although it is a straight shot north on the highway, once you hit those county roads, watch out! The hotel is charming and the staff friendly and attentive. However, we were there offseason (which we knew) and the restaurants shared hours, so there wasn't much choice, until the actual weekend. The food is very good though!!! The room was large and very clean. The view was beautiful; overlooking the lake and walking path.
The spa was fabulous, until the weekend, when it was crowded and very noisy with ladies enjoying their girls weekend, completely unaware, or caring, there were others trying to enjoy theirs.
We will try it again, as it did help us unwind, but we would not include a weekend due to the noisy spa and we'd go in a different season, perhaps late spring or in the fall.

Room Tip: We had an end room overlooking the lake. The view was beautiful and it was very quiet. Even with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmelbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The company I was interviewing with placed me here for a few days. We stayed in a room with kitchenette and it was great, fulfilling every need. The five days we were there the staff helped us with every request, the grounds were tremendous and the restaurants were great. May have been able to just stay on site and left happy, had we not had work to do!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zak_ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Myself and 7 of my girlfriends shared the 3 bedroom lakeview suite for two nights this past weekend. The room was amazing, spacious with comfortable furnishings and beautiful bathrooms. There were three bathrooms and three bedrooms with a king bed in each of them. Plenty of room for 8 women to enjoy the weekend.
The grounds of the Osthoof are beautiful, reminded us of the resort from the movie Dirty Dancing. The weather was beautiful, 75 degrees in April, so we were able to get out and walk around on some of the trails. I would love to go back in the summer to rent a pontoon and enjoy the lake.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room, such an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank lWIuckymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

It's only Oasis in the middle of what feels like nowhere....lovely views...compfy condo type rooms and you can cook in them if you'd like. I've been to a few retreats and the meetings rooms are nice too. Nice rooms for groups to have a reception. Enjoy!

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowritermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkhart Lake
0.3 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
106 reviews
12.9 mi away
Inn on Woodlake
Inn on Woodlake
#2 of 2 in Kohler
300 reviews
6.1 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plymouth
6.3 mi away
AmericInn Plymouth
AmericInn Plymouth
#3 of 5 in Plymouth
120 reviews
15.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osthoff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osthoff Resort

Address: 101 Osthoff Ave, Elkhart Lake, WI 53020-1976
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Elkhart Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elkhart Lake
Price Range: $248 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osthoff Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osthoff Resort, in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, is a premier AAA Four Diamond resort located on 500 ft of recreational lakefront. Offering a casual atmosphere within its elegant surroundings, The Osthoff Resort provides a romantic getaway for couples, while year-round indoor and outdoor activities, provide a family with many opportunities to enjoy spending time together. Our conference center offers spacious and well-appointed ballrooms and meeting rooms to assist in the productivity of retreats and conferences for our group guests. A host of seasonal getaway packages are available providing guests varying options for a holiday vacation. Whether spring, summer, fall or winter – The Osthoff Resort is your place in the lake.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Osthoff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osthoff Resort Elkhart Lake
Osthoff Hotel Elkhart Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing